COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 10

Showing 1-10 of 10

Sort by:

Newest
  • on February 22, 2013

    Flag


    Excellent! Love it! Takes a couple of times to perfect it, but WELL WORTH IT! Thanks Ingrid.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 17, 2013

    Flag

    I am not a big fan of this recipe. Yes, the chipotle gave it a bit of kick, but that was it. There was no depth of flavor. I didn't hate it, but I would not make it again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 10, 2012

    Flag

    The cornbread mixture in this is too sweet and doesn't taste good in conjunction with the meat/bean mixture. If you can find a cornbread mixture that doesn't use sugar, it might taste better. However, I make the filling in this recipe and fold it in a flour tortilla with the cheese and a little cilantro, and it makes a great burrito. I also add a little tomato paste (or you can use salsa to thicken the mean/bean mixture and give it more of a tomato-based flavor. Experiment with the chipotle seasoning as I usually add more than what's called for since it adds more flavor (and more heat.....

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 28, 2012

    Flag

    Nice, easy recipe. Added some diced Jalapeno for some additional bite. Will make again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 24, 2012

    Flag

    Prepared this for my husband's family when they visited us at Xmas. This is really good and very easy. It makes a lot!! Added a bit more chipolte and it wasn't too spicy. Will prepare it again. I've made several of Ingrid's recipes and she hasn't disappointed me yet.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 23, 2012

    Flag

    What a great recipe!!! All I would do next time is use only one chipotle chile and no adobo sauce, a little over powering but otherwise we will be making this again and also it was easy to make, as a mom of four, easy and satisfying dinners are a blessing.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 04, 2011

    Flag

    This was just OK IMHO. A bit on the bland side. The Adobe chili definitely can over power the flavor and definitely needs to be minced up before adding. Probably could have used some salt and more cheese; maybe double the cheese. (My husband asked why there wasn't any cheese in it - and shocked to hear there was.

    So I'll try it again with a little modification - was thinking that maybe a couple charred pasilla peppers might add some nice flavor vs. the adobe.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 11, 2011

    Flag

    I used this recipe and adapted it to make a wonderful skillet chilli. I used a blender to chop the tomatoes and adobo. It was very good. Next time I will make the entire recipe. I rated it 4 stars because I did not try the entire thing.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 20, 2011

    Flag

    I made this last weekend and had leftovers for lunch at work this week! It was good enough to share with my co-workers!

    I used black beans instead of pinto and I added a little more of the adobo sauce, the recipe doesn't say to finely chop up the chipotles but you need to! Also, I added a small can of whole kernal corn, drained.

    I'll definately make this again!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 09, 2011

    Flag

    Very tasty and easy. Definitely on the spicy side. If you don't like spicy food, reduce the chipotle in adobo. The recipe also freezes very well. I doubled the recipe and split into 2 9" square pans, covered both with the cornbread topping. I then cooked the first pan and wrapped the 2nd pan in plastic wrap and then foil and threw in the freezer. I didn't wait for it to cool, just wrapped and froze. I then thawed in the fridge, removed the plastic wrap, rewrapped in the foil and cooked about 1hr at 350. Cornbread topping wasn't quite as fluffy as the fresh baked one but was still very good and great weeknight meal.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.