Banana Caramel Cream Pie

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 31

Showing 1-10 of 31

Sort by:

Newest
  • on November 25, 2014

    Flag

    I am a very accomplished baker and thought this recipe looked interesting. What a disaster. I knew it was not going to turn out but forged ahead anyway. It was like a lumpy puddle of muck. Disgusting. The crust is far from "The perfect Pie crust" I should have stuck with my tried and true Julia Child pastry cream recipe which is fool proof. Sorry Kelsey, this was a real miss.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 04, 2014

    Flag

    Disgusting. The filling, after chilling, is just plain runny like a thin soup. The ingredients look right, but the measurements are way off somewhere. Don't waste your time or ingredients on this recipe!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 20, 2014

    Flag

    I wish I could add a picture of my result from following the "perfect pie dough" recipe. Disaster. My rating is only for that first step, the pie crust. Will have to search Food Network for another pie dough recipe. But it makes me worry about the integrity of the rest of the stages in this pie recipe. Kelsey, I love watching you, and unfortunately this is the first recipe I've tried of yours, and this pie dough is a big fail. Sorry!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 20, 2014

    Flag

    passion of the crust!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 09, 2013

    Flag

    This pie was out of this world! My family loved this pie and it will be one of favorites for a long time!!!! Thank Kelsey soooo much for sharing this awesome pie recipe with the rest of the world ��

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 06, 2013

    Flag

    Yesterday I made this pie & followed suggested of one review by adding an extra TB of cornstarch & 1/2 cup of less milk, after 7 hrs in the fridge it still came out runny. This recipe was a complete waste of ingredients & time. Do to poor ratings of the crust & caramel sauce I made a graham cracker crust, it was the only thing that was good about the pie :-(

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 27, 2013

    Flag

    The first couple of times I made this pie it tasted fabulous but didn't set up completely so the custard was quite loose. This time I made a few alterations.....3 Tbsp. cornstarch (instead of 2,
    2 cups milk (instead of 2 1/2 and 3 egg yolks (instead of 2 and it worked perfectly. I also coated the bottom of the pie crust with some melted chocolate chips, let them set while the custard was cooling, and then proceeded as instructed. Yum!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 27, 2013

    Flag

    Excellent, step by step directions on making the perfect pie crust. My family and friends tell me all the time I am an amazing cook, but I could never make the perfect pie crust. The directions highlight a few essentials that made me say "ah" no wonder my prior attempts didn't work. Thanks for sharing your family secretes!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 23, 2012

    Flag

    What an awesome Banana Cream pie..! I used 1/2 cup half & half for part of the milk as suggested by someone else. The filling was still a little soft so I'll try the 1/2 packet of gelatin trick next time. Carmel sause is amazing...!!! Nika81's review below is how to cook it...on high then off heat and stir in the cream.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 19, 2012

    Flag

    This is the best banana cream pie I have come across. The trick for perfect salted caramel sauce is to cook on high and do not stir it, I cook mine on 9, if you cook on medium then crystals form in the sugar. After it turns an amber color pull off heat and start to pour in the cream when you are whisking it do not put your whisk under the cream, if you do it will cause the caramel sauce to clump onto the whisk. I have made the caramel sauce more times than I can count. The pies now 5 times and they have always turned out for me.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 3 4 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.