Banana Caramel Cream Pie

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 30

Showing 11-20 of 30

Sort by:

Newest
  • on June 30, 2012

    Flag

    I am not a chef but this recipe looked so easy. (little did I knowWhen I added the cream to the amber colored hot sugar water it instantly turned into a brown sugar rock stuck to my whisk. When I perfectly tempered the egg yolks for the filling it never did set properly and the filling stayed runny. Assembled the pie anyway and sipped the filling while crunching on the sugar candy lumps. Ease was highly misrepresented in this episode.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 26, 2012

    Flag

    This was the first pie I have ever made. It was such a hit!! I definately will be making it again. Thank you :

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 05, 2012

    Flag

    Kelsey's show is great, I enjoy all her recipes. However, the perfect crust for the banana pie fried in the oven & it was initially described as a 1 crust recipe, but the instructions indicated to use half of the dough for another crust? I used similar recipe the next time that called for double the flour & a smidgen of veggie shortening which didn't fry & shrink in the pie plate.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 14, 2011

    Flag

    Made this with one alteration. I made the custard and crust from scratch so I didn't feel too bad about cheating a bit on the caramel. I swapped the salted caramel out with Dulce de Leche from the Mexican market and it was the creamiest, most delicious cream pie I've ever tasted.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 27, 2011

    Flag

    Amazing recipe! Whenever I make a custard filling I always use a portion of the liquid with half and half ,rather than all whole milk. Yes, a little more calorie laden, but hey, this isn't a low cal pie anyway!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 26, 2011

    Flag

    I have not made this yet, and I'm anxious to do so. But I have a question before I start: how much salt did you use in the salted caramel sauce? I understand "by taste", but I've never tasted a "salted" caramel sauce before, so I don't know where to begin.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 25, 2011

    Flag

    WARNING about the "perfect" pie dough....this recipe has too much butter! The butter melts too fast, froths up and the crust actually "frys". This not only causes severe smoking (the building fire alarm went off! but ultimately creates a tough, chewy crust. I've made hundreds of crusts before and should've trusted my instincts as it just didn't seem right. I actually wonder if there is a mistake in the recipe. Otherwise...I really do like Kelsey's show!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 23, 2011

    Flag

    This was the best recipe for Banana Cream Pie - I don't know why people have trouble making pie crust it is so easy and in the end makes the pie extra delicious. I usually don't make cream pies but the instructions were so simple and easy. Thanks Kelsey!!!!!!!!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 23, 2011

    Flag

    NOT YET A REAL RATING, but I wont hurt her score ....

    directions say to "roll out one chilled ..." Does this recipe make a single crust or two?
    I will review the the video to see if that gets answered, and re-rate when I make it.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 13, 2011

    Flag

    The Pie crust was great, I will use that recipe again. I was disapointed that the cream came out too runny.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.