COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 38

Showing 11-20 of 38

Sort by:

Newest
  • on January 13, 2013

    Flag

    These are very yummy! I used almonds instead of pecans because that's what I had on hand. I toasted them before chopping them up! One thing that I will note, DO NOT USE parchment paper as another person mentioned. Everything sticks to it! I should have known that. But anyway, awesome recipe Kelsey!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 13, 2013

    Flag

    Absoluteley addictive. The caramel is still very tricky for me. It takes a lot longer to turn amber than the recipe says. I took these to Christmas Eve with my In Laws and my mother-in-law called the next day to say that they could not stop eating them. Don't overdo the chocolate chips or you lose the caramel flavor.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 22, 2012

    Flag

    I am making like 5 batches of this to give away and to take to different functions. It is easy, but time consuming. The caramel sauce is so fun to make. Add the cream slowly and make sure you hold your face back, and use an oven mit while mixing..IT GETS STEAMY! Add butter and salt after the cream is mixed or it will start to crystalize. DON'T STOP WISKING! They taste so wonderful! You are my favorite Kelsey, you make cooking fun and easy!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 22, 2012

    Flag

    Very easy to make. I made them with my kids 10 yrs and 4 yrs. They had fun helping mix and layering the bars. I love the sauce, OMG it is so yummy, I also tried the salted caramel milkshake, yummy! Very yummy, a must try at least once :

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 16, 2012

    Flag

    I thought these were a LOT more difficult to make than what I thought they would be. I followed the instructions exactly and still screwed up the caramel sauce twice, and then I couldn't tell if it was done anymore. I won't make this again. They do taste good though.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 12, 2012

    Flag

    Don't make the mistake i did and use bottled caramel sauce with some sea salt mixed in. Ugh, tasteless, not worth the calories. But i downgraded the rating because I'm not sure they would have been vastly improved using homemade caramel. BTW To prevent your bars getting stuck in the pan, consider putting down a layer of parchment paper before loading on the dough.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 01, 2012

    Flag

    Tasty, but sooooo rich!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 28, 2012

    Flag

    I saw the show then found the recipe OMG they were so good so I sent some home with my father-in-law when he came to visit and he was very impressed and wants more.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 27, 2012

    Flag

    I liked this recipe--it is very easy and produces beautiful bars with a lot of texture. One thing--I felt that 1/4 tsp salt was way too little for a such a large amount of base and topping. My instinct was right and when I doubled the salt (I used sea salt to 1/2 tsp, it still wasn't enough to fully bring out the flavor of the butter and brown sugar. The caramel was plenty salty, but it doesn't permeate through the whole bar. All in all, i would make them again for sure, but up the salt to 1 tsp.
    Also, I subbed peanuts for pecans and while it was tasty, the peanut flavor slightly overtook the caramel. My fault, next time i'll definitely use pecans.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 23, 2012

    Flag

    I made these for some friends and they loved them. One of my friends who is not big on sweets said these are the best things ever. The flavor combination was perfect. Thank you Kelsey for this recipe. I'm hoping to make a glueten free version for one of my friends who is allergic to gluten. I know she would absolutely love this treat.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.