COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 38

Showing 31-38 of 38

Sort by:

Newest
  • on December 16, 2011

    Flag

    Kelsey, I love your show and your recipes. I made the salted carmel sauce and the carmelitas for the first time last year for Christmas. They were fabulous. I made extra sauce at the time and gave a jar to my grandchildren for apple dipping. My grand daughter still talks about it. I made a huge batch last night and am ready to put the carmelitas in the oven. I have eight grandchildren and will give a load of carmel sauce to them. Thanks Kelsey

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 11, 2011

    Flag

    I was looking for something just like this. Just wondering why do you add the flour to the sauce. Won't it taste uncooked?

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 12, 2011

    Flag

    I didn't try the Carmelita's, but I have made this caramel sauce several times since seeing this episode. I give it away as gifts in jars with the carmelita recipe attached. I've impressed dinner guests making a quick jar of caramel at the end of the meal and chopping up apples for a simple dessert that in the three times I've served it has been eaten until it's gone, because no one can say no to this sauce. It's become my go to thank you gift and a staple in my fridge. Thanks Kelsey!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 03, 2011

    Flag

    These are not normally something I'd make, but my husband saw the episode and practically begged me. Now, I actually get requests for them...they're excellent. To the person who asked how much sauce to use, I use one whole batch of the caramel sauce for one recipe of carmelitas. I do make the following changes: 1 I use about 1/2 the salt in the sauce 2 I almost always use toasted unsalted peanuts because I have a brother in law who's allergic to tree nuts. 3 I bake the base a little more than 10 minutes - this might be my oven's fault 4 I always have to bake mine a minimum 30 minutes to get some color on top.
    Otherwise, just be warned they are very very rich - too rich in fact for some people, I'd imagine. As long as your family & friends have no complaints about that, these will become an instant hit!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 03, 2011

    Flag

    This was delicious! I would definitely double the recipe for the caramel to have some extra since the bars will use most of it. Also, I think the chocolate chips weren't really necessary, next time I'm going to make it without since there is so much flavor in the caramel and nuts. I took this to a work party and everyone LOVED it! I was proud - thanks Kelsey!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 18, 2011

    Flag

    These looks delicious, but I haven't made it yet, so I'm basing my rating on the recipe and the previous ratings. I'm interested in the caramel sauce. About how much of the sauce does the recipe make? Is it a cup and a half, as is required in the carmelita recipe?

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 15, 2011

    Flag

    These are the PERFECT replacement for a boring old cookie...and easier too! What a great treat!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 31, 2011

    Flag

    AMAZING!!
    We were too impatient to wait for the crust to cool but it seemed to turn out okay. We ate some with vanilla ice cream after it had been in the fridge about a half hour. They were still warm and the ice cream helped balance out the sweetness. We also liked them cold for breakfast! I poured the sugar in a little pile in the middle of the pot and poured the water right in the middle and didn't need to stir or push down the edges while cooking. We also used semisweet chocolate chips and it was Plenty sweet.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 3 4 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Simply Laura

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.