COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 12

Showing 1-10 of 12

Sort by:

Newest
  • on March 27, 2014

    Flag

    Made this last week...It was VERY good ! I used swiss rather then guyere ( the cheese is similar but a lot less money). Also used less salt cause of my blood pressure being a little high and this still came out great....

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 21, 2014

    Flag

    yum

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 08, 2014

    Flag

    Excellent top of the stove recipe for French Onion Soup. Well worth the effort! Great flavor! Husband loves his onion soup and he really enjoyed this. I deleted all my other onion soup recipes. This is a keeper!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 16, 2014

    Flag

    Made this yesterday and it is very good. The broth had a nice flavor, though I wanted it to be a little richer tasting, more depth. I used organic broths which are lower sodium than most labeled 'lower sodium' broths. Next time, I will stick to using stock which provides a richer taste than broth. I may consider trying what others posted and use all beef vs beef and chicken. Though I think using stock will do the trick and it will become a five star recipe.
    Note to others making for the first time. The directions state stir onions occasionally, take that to heart and try not to stir to often. The less stirring allows the onions to caramelize quicker, and I have found that anytime I do caramelize onions the 30 minutes stated in most recipes realistically on my stove is a hour, so don't panic.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 25, 2013

    Flag

    This gets 5 stars for both the recipe and the episode (knife skills. I saw this it for the first time shortly after taking the knife skills class at my local Sur La Table. I recommend recording this episode and keeping it for reference.

    As for the recipe, because my wife and daughter are vegetarians I substituted veggie stock for the chicken, and mushroom stock for the beef. They loved it, as did I. I suggest following her advice after adding the stock: "Season the soup generously with salt, and pepper, to taste." It's an important part of the recipe. Taste until it's to your liking.

    I also used a baguette for the croutons so I could have the remaining bread as a side to the soup (good choice. As I was adding this review I noticed number 4 on 'most popular recipes' was Kelsey's Homemade French Baguettes. Next time I do this soup it will use both recipes.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 23, 2013

    Flag

    I just made Kelsey's Essentials French Onion Soup for an informal dinner with some great friends. I served it with a simple salad & WOW WHAT A HIT!!!!! The soup was super simple & had great flavor. Unlike most french onion soups I have tasted in the past which are usually very salty, this recipe makes awesome soup. I plan to make it often!!!!!! Thanks so much for sharing your talents in the kitchen with us. You have a strong following for your show!!!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 31, 2013

    Flag

    I love that white wine is the flavor enhancement in this recipe - I always have it on hand, unlike the Sherry I see in a lot of French Onion Soup recipes. I made the soup part of this the day before and reheated on the stovetop before broiling with cheese and croutons on a busier night. I think the soup's flavor became even more rich overnight! Substitutions I made were all beef stock instead of chicken since I had it in the pantry, and Emmental cheese in place of Gruyere because it was much more affordable at the store. Great recipe, as usual, Kelsey!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 11, 2012

    Flag

    Great recipe. My husband cooked it and we thought it was delicious. We will cook it again and serve it to guests.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 19, 2012

    Flag

    This deserves 10 stars... This is the best, most delicious, French Onion Soup ever. Great job Kelsey.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 23, 2011

    Flag

    Great recipe! Just right

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Simply Laura

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.