Homemade French Baguettes

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 41

Showing 1-10 of 41

Sort by:

Newest
  • on September 29, 2014

    Flag

    Just came back from a holiday in France and wanted to try to make my own baguettes, this recipe fits the bill perfectly, very easy and the ice cube trick is spot on.... :-)

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 28, 2014

    Flag

    Excelent. I had made your french bread recipy, it turnned out great. Thank so much.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 01, 2014

    Flag

    Excellent recipe, easy to follow. I've made some changes, and used one cup wholewheat flour, and another multigrain, added a quarter cup toasted wheat germ, and a tablespoon of flaxseed. My baguettes are the bomb!!! Everybody loves them.....crusty yet soft and tasty. My daughter says it's YUMMY, mommy!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 21, 2014

    Flag

    made this for first time everyone loved it I need to make my baguettes a little bigger

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 04, 2014

    Flag

    I've become obsessed w/ baking my own bread so baguettes were on my list next to tackle. I agree that the bread tastes a bit yeasty when you eat the bread alone. In sandwiches, you can't really tell though. But this recipe is quite easy and the baguettes came out really well. The ice trick worked well making the crust crisp, but not hard and the inside of the bread was so soft & moist. Looking forward to making this again. Next time with a less yeast and longer rise times.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 04, 2014

    Flag

    Just made this & it came out perfectly! I followed Kelsey's recipe exactly except I let the yeast activate 10mins instead of 5mins. I did the ice cube thing & glad I did because the outside came out nice & crispy, while the inside baked perfectly. This recipe will go into my "best ever French bread" book & I will be making it often. No "knead" to buy bread at the bakery anymore, this recipe is easy & the baguettes were fresh, warm & homemade. My family also appreciated the aroma in the house; nothing like the smell of fresh baked bread. Thanks Kelsey, you're awesome!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 05, 2014

    Flag

    I've used other french bread recipes and am excited to try this one. I have the pans and want to use them. I watched the episodes and specifically the one where she made the bread and it looks like a professional bakery loaf. I am a big fan of Kelsey (was during Next Food Network Star show) and her recipes and instruction are so easy to follow.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 22, 2014

    Flag

    I been making long Island NY style pizza for years and this is too much yeast!!! 1/4 tbsp. is all you need just make sure water is warm and keep the dough a little wet.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 18, 2014

    Flag

    Followed the recipe exactly and these baguettes came out perfect. I'll definitely be making this recipe again... I'm thinking- french bread pizza, mmmmm.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 18, 2014

    Flag

    This is a great recipe for homemade French Bread. Bread making skills are a must. Time and patience are also a must. Keep trying, you will have success!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.