Homemade French Baguettes

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 38

Showing 1-10 of 38

Sort by:

Newest
  • on April 04, 2014

    Flag

    I've become obsessed w/ baking my own bread so baguettes were on my list next to tackle. I agree that the bread tastes a bit yeasty when you eat the bread alone. In sandwiches, you can't really tell though. But this recipe is quite easy and the baguettes came out really well. The ice trick worked well making the crust crisp, but not hard and the inside of the bread was so soft & moist. Looking forward to making this again. Next time with a less yeast and longer rise times.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 04, 2014

    Flag

    Just made this & it came out perfectly! I followed Kelsey's recipe exactly except I let the yeast activate 10mins instead of 5mins. I did the ice cube thing & glad I did because the outside came out nice & crispy, while the inside baked perfectly. This recipe will go into my "best ever French bread" book & I will be making it often. No "knead" to buy bread at the bakery anymore, this recipe is easy & the baguettes were fresh, warm & homemade. My family also appreciated the aroma in the house; nothing like the smell of fresh baked bread. Thanks Kelsey, you're awesome!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 05, 2014

    Flag

    I've used other french bread recipes and am excited to try this one. I have the pans and want to use them. I watched the episodes and specifically the one where she made the bread and it looks like a professional bakery loaf. I am a big fan of Kelsey (was during Next Food Network Star show) and her recipes and instruction are so easy to follow.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 22, 2014

    Flag

    I been making long Island NY style pizza for years and this is too much yeast!!! 1/4 tbsp. is all you need just make sure water is warm and keep the dough a little wet.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 18, 2014

    Flag

    Followed the recipe exactly and these baguettes came out perfect. I'll definitely be making this recipe again... I'm thinking- french bread pizza, mmmmm.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 18, 2014

    Flag

    This is a great recipe for homemade French Bread. Bread making skills are a must. Time and patience are also a must. Keep trying, you will have success!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 12, 2014

    Flag

    The instructions were easy to follow and the bread looked ok.

    The crust was like bread, not crispy and crunchy.
    The texture was dense and heavy, not light and airy.

    I think the recipe is wrong... 1 1/2 tablespoons of Yeast?
    I will try it with 1 1/2 teaspoons of yeast but the flavor was all yeast!
    Yikes - that's enough yeast to raise the dead!

    I found a recipe that called for the same amount of flour and a 1/4 teaspoon of yeast but it has a long rise time (12-14hours) with another hour of rise after the loaves are shaped. No sugar (or honey) and it was fantastic. Hardly any prep, just a long wait.

    Everyone who tried this thought it was just too dense and too yeasty...


    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 08, 2014

    Flag

    This bread was a bust. I followed instructions to the T and ended up with extremely sticky dough that needed at least another cup more of flour. The dough did not rise after an hour. I used a fairly new jar of Fliechman's Active Dry Yeast that I had used three days prior to make naan and the dough was perfect. I make bread at least once a week and have never had a problem with the yeast so I wasn't sure why it was not rising. I tried to salvage it and added more flour because it was nearly impossible to roll into a baguette shape. I set the baguette aside to rise once again, it did not rise. Had I added about two more cups of flour than the recipe called for from the beginning, I probably would have been fine. I remember trying this recipe a couple months ago and having similar issues. I'm not sure why because bread is one of my favorite things to make for its simplicity.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 28, 2013

    Flag

    Easy and great flavor. I didn't add the ice and my crust still turned out crisp.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 17, 2013

    Flag

    This bread was great! I used half White whole wheat flour and half Spelt Flour. It was delicious!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 3 4 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.