Homemade French Baguettes

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 44

Showing 11-20 of 44

Sort by:

Newest
  • on January 22, 2014

    Flag

    I been making long Island NY style pizza for years and this is too much yeast!!! 1/4 tbsp. is all you need just make sure water is warm and keep the dough a little wet.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 18, 2014

    Flag

    Followed the recipe exactly and these baguettes came out perfect. I'll definitely be making this recipe again... I'm thinking- french bread pizza, mmmmm.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 18, 2014

    Flag

    This is a great recipe for homemade French Bread. Bread making skills are a must. Time and patience are also a must. Keep trying, you will have success!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 12, 2014

    Flag

    The instructions were easy to follow and the bread looked ok.

    The crust was like bread, not crispy and crunchy.
    The texture was dense and heavy, not light and airy.

    I think the recipe is wrong... 1 1/2 tablespoons of Yeast?
    I will try it with 1 1/2 teaspoons of yeast but the flavor was all yeast!
    Yikes - that's enough yeast to raise the dead!

    I found a recipe that called for the same amount of flour and a 1/4 teaspoon of yeast but it has a long rise time (12-14hours) with another hour of rise after the loaves are shaped. No sugar (or honey) and it was fantastic. Hardly any prep, just a long wait.

    Everyone who tried this thought it was just too dense and too yeasty...


    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 08, 2014

    Flag

    This bread was a bust. I followed instructions to the T and ended up with extremely sticky dough that needed at least another cup more of flour. The dough did not rise after an hour. I used a fairly new jar of Fliechman's Active Dry Yeast that I had used three days prior to make naan and the dough was perfect. I make bread at least once a week and have never had a problem with the yeast so I wasn't sure why it was not rising. I tried to salvage it and added more flour because it was nearly impossible to roll into a baguette shape. I set the baguette aside to rise once again, it did not rise. Had I added about two more cups of flour than the recipe called for from the beginning, I probably would have been fine. I remember trying this recipe a couple months ago and having similar issues. I'm not sure why because bread is one of my favorite things to make for its simplicity.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 28, 2013

    Flag

    Easy and great flavor. I didn't add the ice and my crust still turned out crisp.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 17, 2013

    Flag

    This bread was great! I used half White whole wheat flour and half Spelt Flour. It was delicious!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 29, 2013

    Flag

    This bread is fantastic! The ice cube trick is genius and produced the perfect baguette! The bread was soft in the middle with an incredible crust. I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I served it with baked brie with sautéed apples, raisins, butter, maple syrup, cinnamon, nutmeg and a pinch of salt. It was very simple and I will be making again today. Thank you Kelsey!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 27, 2013

    Flag

    Love this recipe! Whenever I need to make a quick baguette, I use this recipe! I double the foaming time of the yeast, I just feel it works : I love the flavor, and its very moist :

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 13, 2013

    Flag

    It was an easy recipe to follow as all of Kelsey's recipes are. The taste was good but not the greatest and I did not get a crispy crust as seen on the show. I can say it is a good bread but more of a common baguette not a near substitute for sourdough baguette. I'd make it again as there are many uses for bread. It made great crostini.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.