Homemade French Baguettes

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 38

Showing 21-30 of 38

Sort by:

Newest
  • on December 07, 2012

    Flag

    Deliciously delicious. Making these for the second time today. Followed recipe to the t.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 18, 2012

    Flag

    We used 1 table spoon of sugar instead of the honey and it still came out great.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 04, 2012

    Flag

    What an easy and delicous bread. I let my bread machine do all the work and baked it in my oven on the back of a cookie sheet. I did put the ice cubes in as directed and it made for a nice crust, not too hard and very moist and chewy center. I was thinking of making pizza tonite and I might just make french bread pizza's instead. Mahalo for the wonderful recipe!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 18, 2012

    Flag

    This turned out to be a lot easyer than I thought it was going to be and made me feel like a pro, and also instead of a cookie sheet I cooked it on my pizza stone, I will be making this at least twice a week from now on. Oh and make sure you preheat your pizza stone, this will make the bottem nice and brown and as crusty as the top. Oh no ok it's been almost an hour now since I cooked two loafs and I'm sorry Hun I've already ate them both, I will make a double batch tommarrow, but they were realy good. Ah Cheez I'm a bad bad boy LOL

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 05, 2012

    Flag

    I CAN NOT bake, AT ALL!! This was the first recipe I could actually make and it turned out GREAT! It was super easy, and I agree with the last person, put the baguette on the rack without the sheet pan so it can brown up, I put them back in for only 3 minutes. I can not wait to make this again, I will NEVER buy baguettes at the store! Now, I wonder if I could add roasted garlic in the dough, and sea salt on top. Oh the possibilities are ENDLESS!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 02, 2012

    Flag

    Thanks Kelsey for this recipe. It was easy and perfect for my jams I've been stocking up on. Only thing I changed was the crust wasn't as browned on the bottom as I'd of liked, so I removed the loaves from the baking sheet and put them straight on the rack for a couple of minutes and got an even crust. Will make these again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 25, 2012

    Flag

    Incredibly easy recipe. This was also my first experience making bread and will not be my last. The baguettes are not as crusty as what you would find in a bakery, but they are still fantastic. Soft and doughy and absolutely perfect for sandwiches. Toast them up the next day and the crust will be nice and crispy with a soft and slightly chewy dough on the inside. Presentation was also nice, so much so that the hubby saw them and were amazed that they weren't store bought. If you don't have a warm area to let the dough rise (like I did, I would recommend using Alton Browns method. Put a shallow pan of boiling water underneath the dough in the oven. With the air conditioner blasting our house was not humid enough or warm enough. One other thing, because the baguettes are not as crusty, they don't make good crostinis in my opinion.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 23, 2012

    Flag

    Easiest bread ever! However, doesn't have the flavor that a longer rising would give it. It's a trade off, but is a winner in terms of time and effort

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 16, 2012

    Flag

    Made this today and it's so delicious!! I've been hesitant to bake bread before but this recipe was so simple and approachable. This one will be a go-to for years to come!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 15, 2012

    Flag

    Kelsey you are a winner! Loved the Baguettes - I watched it on tv and you so inspired me I got right up to make them. They were delicious.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.