Italian Sausage, Spinach, and Ricotta Cannelloni

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 19

Showing 1-10 of 19

Sort by:

Newest
  • on June 12, 2014

    Flag

    Loved this and so did my family. Followed the recipe almost exactly, but used fresh spinach. Made pasta with my own recipe and added a touch of tomato paste and a little sugar to the sauce, but that was it. This is tedious, but well worth it.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 25, 2014

    Flag

    Followed recipe precisely. Two suggestions: Add 1/4 tsp of ground fennel to the sausage/onion sauté and 1/8 tsp (or less, to taste) of grated nutmeg to the ricotta mixture. Additionally, fresh basil added to the marinara sauce 15 min prior to serving wouldn't hurt. Good recipe but we found it a little flat flavor wise. Will definitely make again with these changes. Great show!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 17, 2014

    Flag

    Use fresh WONTON/EGG ROLL WRAPPERS instead of making pasta from scratch! Tastes like fresh pasta and you do not need to parboil the wrappers before filling them. Baked for 30 mins at 400 but was maybe a titch too long as it seem a tiny bit dry. I used a jar of spaghetti sauce instead of making Kelsey's sauce because this was a weeknight meal. I also did 1/2 ricotta, 1/2 cottage cheese and mozzarella instead of parm because those were the ingredients I had on hand. Very yummy. This recipe will go in the keeper pile.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 12, 2013

    Flag

    Wanted this for my birthday dinner, my husband and older son made most of the pasta, I cooked and filled them. We LOVED it!!!!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 20, 2012

    Flag

    Amazing! I love this gals show. I continue to learn new basics and remember old long forgotten dishes and discover new favorites from Kelsey's show. She is a wonderful teacher and has great recipes. Had some sheet pasta so cheated but this is a keeper for sure. Made at lunch time for dinner tonight and of course had to sample for safety. So far all her recipes have been hits with my family - she is going to only get better. Next to Ina Garten, Kelsey is next on my list of shows to watch.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 18, 2012

    Flag

    Overall, this recipe was very good. I made several modifications which without, may have bumped it up to 5 stars. Instead of fresh pasta and sauce, I used dried manicotti and Barilla tomato basil sauce. I followed the rest of the recipe as written with the exception of allowing it to bake for an additional 10 minutes or so to make sure the middle of the cannelloni were hot. Thanks Kelsey for another great recipe using everyday ingredients!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 16, 2012

    Flag

    This was SO good! To save time on a weeknight, I used store-bought manicotti and a jar of tomato basil sauce.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 04, 2012

    Flag

    Awesome easy to make the whole family enjoyed the dish i replaced the sausage with ground pork and added oregano.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 18, 2011

    Flag

    My family LOVED this recipe. I honestly felt this was a great recipe that wasn't too daunting for my first pasta making experience. I absolutely loved her red sauce and I am going to use this part of her recipe for my full time red sauce recipe. The pasta turned out wonderful. I ran it through my kitchen aid pasta attachment to a level 6. I think next time I will add some mozzarella to the filling for some additional creaminess. This is just my personal preference. My parents felt this was a perfect recipe and they wouldn't change a thing. Thanks Kelsey!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 02, 2011

    Flag

    Fantastic dish. The cannelloni and stuffing went very well together. I made my own pasta and was surprised at how light the entire dish tasted. I have had other cannelloni in restaurants and always left over stuffed eating just a small amount. This dish hit the "Italian spot" and did not feel heavy at all. Great flavor. I will make this for friends. Thank you Kelsey for this great meal.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.