Ratatouille Tart with Caramelized Onion-Tomato Jam

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 20

Showing 11-20 of 20

Sort by:

Newest
  • on July 21, 2012

    Flag

    Delicious and gorgeous! I did half the sugars in the jam because I don't like too much sweetness in savory dishes. It took longer than expected to reduce and thicken the jam but it finally got there. Can't wait to try the jam with other things, maybe over a block of cream cheese for an appetizer or snack? Any. Other suggestions?

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 24, 2012

    Flag

    I made this recipe at my 12 yr old sons request. He does not like veggies but loved the movie Ratatouille, and since the movie was good this dish had to be as well. The reasoning of a kiddo should not be questioned. We LOVE this tart! He enjoyed helping me make it, but liked eating it more. He ate 1/3 of it himself. This is a veggie dish he requests often. The tomato jam is amazing and the tart is so pretty. A big hit for my family.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 15, 2012

    Flag

    Great recipe! This tart is so delicious! I will definitely make it again. I'm so glad there was enough of the tomato jam to make another tart and spread on other things. It's great on pork, and most delicious on leftover meatloaf sandwiches.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 19, 2012

    Flag

    I love, love, love this recipe. I was going to have this as an appetizer for a few friends. Well, I tasted it, then I tasted it again, then, I said, one more taste. Well, I ate one-quarter of it in one tasting. Needless to say, I had to make another. Thank goodness there was plenty of left over tomato jam to make several more.
    Thank you Kelsey.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 28, 2011

    Flag

    This was fabulous! Took this to my Bible study and the ladies raved over it, and asked for the recipe. The caramelized onion-tomato jam took a while to prepare, but it was worth it. Very tasty. Easy to assemble once the jam was made. I used dry oregano and it was fine.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 28, 2011

    Flag

    I made the Onion-Tomato jam today. Wow! It is so thick & rich, with an intense onion & tomato flavor. I can't wait to spread it on hot, crispy garlic bread or use it in place of plain sauce for home made pizza. Or even on my bagel with cream cheese. Instead of Roma tomatoes, I used tomatoes fresh from my garden, San Marzano and Juliets, (which are a cross between Cherry & Roma. I also did not have any Chipotle powder so I used the ground chili powder I had on hand instead. This is another winner recipe from Kelsey. Thank You!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 10, 2011

    Flag

    Delicious! Put this together this evening for dinner and was so pleased. The tomato jam is awesome. I followed the recipe with the exception of only using 1/4 t on the spices. This was a good call because the jam still had a great deal of flavor and a kick from the chipotle. I had a great deal of vegetables leftover. The goat cheese at the end was excellent. It got nice and creamy and added a great deal to the tart. I'll make another one this weekend for company!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 08, 2011

    Flag

    I had super-high hopes, and it wasn't quite as good as I thought it would be. I cut down the amount of sugar and molasses and vinegar substantially, but I may omit it in the future as I'm a huge fan of the natural sweetness. The spices were a good addition, the crust was crisp and the veggies were tender.

    I didn't experience any middle-of-the-tart flimsiness; perhaps cook the jam until it's a little thicker? Overally, needs a little tweaking but a solid recipe.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 07, 2011

    Flag

    I loved the flavors of this, but unfortunately the middle of my tart was soggy. The edges were perfectly golden and brown, so I don't know if I should have par baked the puff pastry before adding the other ingredients on top of it. The caramelized onion and tomato jam was divine--though it took much longer to reduce down than I anticipated. So in the end it was a very time intensive effort, but now that I already have the jam made I'm going to make it again tomorrow and see if I can get the results I want. This recipe is worth trying until I get it right!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 02, 2011

    Flag

    First the tomato jam. This was not difficult to make but it was very time consuming. The end result is a gorgeous mahogany red color and a creamy texture. It was a bit sweet for my taste but would be a good balance for something more savory. It did make a lot more than was necessary for the tart.

    I did use the jam to make the tart but, because I can't eat dairy, I had to make two substitutions. Instead of the puff pastry (which is loaded with butter I used naan bread. Instead of the goat cheese topping I made some tofu ricotta and spread that on the bread before topping with the tomato jam. I did use zuchinni, eggplant and roasted red peppers, but used mushrooms instead of the tomatoes. This was very tasty and looked so elegant. Definitely will make both recipes again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.