Roasted Chicken with Lemon, Garlic, and Thyme

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 19

Showing 1-10 of 19

Sort by:

Newest
  • on May 20, 2014

    Flag

    Very tasty chicken, although my 5 lb chicken had to cook longer than 45" even though I left my oven set at 450 degrees--my goof! It had a beautiful, brown, crispy skin and was so juicy and tender. I can't wait to try the soy-ginger variation next time but this one is a keeper.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 21, 2014

    Flag

    I would have to say I expected a more flavorful chicken based on all the reviews. I did watch the video since it was a while since I saw Kelsey on TV. I used fresh garlic, fresh thyme, and the lemon zest and quartered lemon. The chicken was very moist but I would also credit Perdue on that. I followed the temp. and after reducing from 425, it took about an hour and 45 min. to get to 160. Carrots were still crunchy and I had not a single brown bit in the roasting pan, maybe because of vegetable rack? which Kelsey did use. I improvised and made a tasty gravy which you don't really need because the chicken is very moist. I will try again but giving only 3 stars at this time.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 23, 2014

    Flag

    I'm a true believer of the roasted chicken thanks to Kelsey. Packed with perfect flavor combinations, I could eat the whole chicken by myself.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 08, 2013

    Flag

    I made this after watching Kelsey make this on her show. I didn't know the whole recipe, but remembered most of it. I found the recipe on Cooking Channel & going to make it again. The first time I made it was awesome, now that I have the recipe I expect it will come out spectacular! This is a keeper and I can't wait to try out the soy ginger variation.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 13, 2013

    Flag

    My husband made this tonight and I loved it. The flavor of the lemony sauce with the onions, carrots and potatoes made me want to lick the bowl. This is a keeper.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 10, 2012

    Flag

    Very flavorful & moist!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 09, 2012

    Flag

    Second time I've made this......outstanding flavors

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 18, 2012

    Flag

    o my gosh this recipe was easy, the chicken was moist, the gravy over some mashed potatoes was heavenly. just beyond this world. this is hands down the best roast chicken i have ever had. my only complaints was that the carrot, celery, and onions were all oily and soggy by the time the chicken was done from being an edible roasting rack and i couldnt tell where to stick the thermometer to get the right temperature so part of the chicken was slightly raw. BUT if we are talking taste then this recipe gets 5,000 stars. A+ Kelsey.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 14, 2012

    Flag

    The main recipe is basically the classic blasted roast chicken -- and I prefer to use the slower and lower temperature method (2 hours 20 mins. at 350. However, I found the variations to be a delightful change from the standard roast chicken. For the Soy Ginger chicken, I like to serve it with Sake-Glazed Vegetables.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 18, 2012

    Flag

    I usually avoid chicken because i never seem to get the flavors I want. This was spot on! My husband loved it and wants to try it on the smoker next time. I substituted dried thyme and pre-minced garlic in butter. Used a combo of fresh thyme, rosemary, and sage in cavity because I only had a few sprigs on hand and it was delicious and it looked beautiful, everyone was impressed! This recipe is a keeper.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.