COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 57

Showing 21-30 of 57

Sort by:

Newest
  • on November 12, 2012

    Flag

    Best caramel I've ever had. I didn't have regular granulated sugar, so I used my vanilla scented sugar (It's just regular sugar with vanilla beans added. I also used pink hymalayan salt. WOW!!! I will never buy store made caramel again. I have a new favorite recipe. Thank you Kelsey.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 01, 2012

    Flag

    Delicious, and the recipe is fine--I didn't have the butter or cream at room temp and it turned out beautifully!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 23, 2012

    Flag

    Great recipe. Took me two tries to get it right; first time I stirred in the butter before the cream and it came out a little watery. Second attempt worked like a charm. I went back and salvaged the first batch by returning it to a boil for a few more minutes to release some moisture; after it cooled it was exactly like the 2nd successful batch in color and consistency. Used superfine sugar and room temperature butter and cream both times. I added a pinch of coarse sea salt along with the salted butter to give it an extra kick. Excellent results!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 20, 2012

    Flag

    I am so excited! This was the 3rd try but I took my time, went right by the recipe and it finally turned out perfect. I didn't heat the cream, but the butter and cream were both room temperature. The first time I made it; well it was okay, the second time I just tossed it in the trash, but this time was certainly the charm. I love it!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 15, 2012

    Flag

    Here's a tip for stopping the caramel seizing into a big heap of rock hard sugar when adding the butter and cream: make sure the butter is at room temperature and heat the cream before you add it to the sugar (don't boil it, just heat the cream until warm to the touch. Works every time!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 03, 2012

    Flag

    Awesome Recipe. Followed it exactly as written and per the video - will never buy caramel again!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 16, 2012

    Flag

    I made this a few times and the sugar kept turning to crystals and then when I added cream and butter, I couldn't even stir fast enough because it was so clumpy. Then, I watched Anne Burrell make this and she added corn syrup. When I researched this, I found out that adding the corn syrup keeps your sugar from crystalizing! Yay! I'm going to try it with the corn syrup next time. You can find Anne's video on YT. I would watch her make it before you try it. Not as easy as it seems.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 26, 2012

    Flag

    This sauce is delicious. I made it to top a cheesecake with crumbled maple glazed bacon and it was awesome. I didn't have any heavy cream so I used half and half and it was fine. I'll definitely make it again!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 08, 2012

    Flag

    Omg! Thank you Kelsey for sharing the recipe for the salty caramel sauce! It is super delicious and very quick and easy! I didn't know weather to use white or brown sugar so I used half light brown and half turabano sugar. It took 5 minutes to turn the perfect amber color. I burnt it slightly and when I added the heavy creme, a lump formed, which I just threw away. The end result was sheer delight! I used it to make the salty caramel mocha latte...52 kitchen adventure's recipe. This is one of my favorite recipe I have come across. It's just the right amount, I will be making it again for sure. It does taste like Starbuck's creation. I LOVE it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 28, 2011

    Flag

    Yum! Very good. Took 5 min to turn the amber color, no stirring, just like she said and it worked fine for us. Cannot wait to try the caramel milkshake recipe. Thanks for sharing Kelsey!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.