COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 54

Showing 31-40 of 54

Sort by:

Newest
  • on December 18, 2011

    Flag

    This recipe is a little difficult and took me two times to perfect. Once I figured it out though, the result was amazing. This sauce is so delicious. My advice, be sure to let the sugar dissolve before you bring it to a boil. Once it's dissolved, don't be afraid to crank up the heat in order to get that amber color. Great recipe. Thanks Kelsey!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 17, 2011

    Flag

    I was unsure about how difficult this recipe might be, but tried it anyway. It turned out to be very simple and absolutely delicious! I made Carmelitas from it, but am not as sold on them. I plan on making this again for a topping and possible gifting it as suggested. My only suggestion is regarding the addition of the cream: whisk it in very fast or the coldness of the cream will instantly thicken your sugar mixture. Of course, putting it back onto the heat while whisking it fixes that. I did not have unsalted butter, so just used regular salted butter and cut the added salt to 1/2 t.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 16, 2011

    Flag

    This recipe couldn't be simpler. If it's not turning amber, you're not cooking it on high enough heat. Turn your burner up to HIGH, seriously. It takes more than a couple of minutes to start to darken, so be patient and don't leave the kitchen. Once it starts to darken, remove it from the heat, let the bubbles subside for a few seconds to see if it's too your liking. If not, put it on for a bit longer. Some of the bubbles may still be blond and confuse you about this. Trust me, pull it off if there are any amber bubbles.

    Follow her instructions to the letter. I did, no stirring, she means it. As Kelsey says, it couldn't be simpler. My one recommendation is to be sure to let the salt dissolve completely before jarring it. I found a bit of undissolved salt in the bottom of the pan.

    I can't wait to give this as Christmas gifts!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 16, 2011

    Flag

    I love this recipe!!! Everyone i make it for loves it and always wants me to bring it to every event. Ive only had this recipe screw up once and the reason was I didn't have the right equipment and it still came out decent.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 16, 2011

    Flag

    I am a very good cook. In reading this recipe, however, I would boil the sugar, water, butter, and salt all together first. Then, when it is the right color, take it off the heat, add the cream and stir.

    The same holds true when making butter toffee. It will be a sugary mess cooked only with unsalted butter, but turn into a wonderful butter toffee when using salted butter or adding salt to unsalted butter while boiling.

    I've made this many times with salted butter or adding salt to the unsalted butter and it turns out well every time.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 14, 2011

    Flag

    i am very dissapointed w/this caramel sauce. i was so excited by all the rave reviews and the picture shown w/the recipe. i am what i consider to be an above average home cook- i am very creative, thorough and watchful. first of all it took me 15 minutes to reach what i would deem a deep amber color of the syrup, and after taking it off the heat and adding the cream and whisking furiously for atleast a full minute the sugar still would not incorporate as i would have liked. still i added the butter and salt and continued to whisk furiously. the color was still not as deep as i would have preferred and the taste was just ok. for the amount of work it took i do not think i would make this particular recipe again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 13, 2011

    Flag

    This NEVER worked out in the two times I attempted it and I have no idea why. I more than doubled the recipe, but the first time the sugar didn't get quite get "deep amber" so it was a yellow soup. The second time it went to far (but never looked deep amber and the sugar crystallized around the side of the pan! VERY disappointing. @burningisolation It looks like we had the same problem!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 13, 2011

    Flag

    I have no idea what I am doing wrong... I have attempted this recipe 4 different times and have not been able to get the sugar turn an amber color. Please help. I am completely at a loss.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 11, 2011

    Flag

    This recipe is easy to make and it's so delicious! I add it to my coffee and then drizzle a little on the whipped cream with just a light sprinkle of sea salt. Fabulous!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 28, 2011

    Flag

    Whooooooooooaaaaaaa I am definately wit this! Easy, simple, and oh so delicious! Go Kelsey......

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.