COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 54

Showing 31-40 of 54

Sort by:

Newest
  • on January 08, 2012

    Flag

    Omg! Thank you Kelsey for sharing the recipe for the salty caramel sauce! It is super delicious and very quick and easy! I didn't know weather to use white or brown sugar so I used half light brown and half turabano sugar. It took 5 minutes to turn the perfect amber color. I burnt it slightly and when I added the heavy creme, a lump formed, which I just threw away. The end result was sheer delight! I used it to make the salty caramel mocha latte...52 kitchen adventure's recipe. This is one of my favorite recipe I have come across. It's just the right amount, I will be making it again for sure. It does taste like Starbuck's creation. I LOVE it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 28, 2011

    Flag

    Yum! Very good. Took 5 min to turn the amber color, no stirring, just like she said and it worked fine for us. Cannot wait to try the caramel milkshake recipe. Thanks for sharing Kelsey!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 27, 2011

    Flag

    I couldn't get the sugar/water to turn brown--started on low as directed, then raised it to a boil, but it only continued to boil clear until it got overheated and thick--tried adding the cream, but the crystallized sugar separated from it.(DARN

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 21, 2011

    Flag

    ...just finished making this sauce and it came out pretty d**n good for my first attempt at making anything like this. i followed the instructions and kept it at med-high heat, and though it took forever to even change from a clear bubbling goo to an amber color, it was worth the wait. i could put this stuff on plywood and eat it! i freaked out when the cream caused it to bubble up, but in my panic i whisked furiously and got everything mixed in. this stuff is awesome and i will definitely be making some for next year's holiday season. this batch is alllllll mine!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 20, 2011

    Flag

    I made this with my daughter, first batch of caramel sauce was a little over cooked, second batch was fabulous. We used it in the caramelita bars, everyone loved them. Trying Candy Apples next. Thank you so much for sharing.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 18, 2011

    Flag

    This recipe is a little difficult and took me two times to perfect. Once I figured it out though, the result was amazing. This sauce is so delicious. My advice, be sure to let the sugar dissolve before you bring it to a boil. Once it's dissolved, don't be afraid to crank up the heat in order to get that amber color. Great recipe. Thanks Kelsey!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 17, 2011

    Flag

    I was unsure about how difficult this recipe might be, but tried it anyway. It turned out to be very simple and absolutely delicious! I made Carmelitas from it, but am not as sold on them. I plan on making this again for a topping and possible gifting it as suggested. My only suggestion is regarding the addition of the cream: whisk it in very fast or the coldness of the cream will instantly thicken your sugar mixture. Of course, putting it back onto the heat while whisking it fixes that. I did not have unsalted butter, so just used regular salted butter and cut the added salt to 1/2 t.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 16, 2011

    Flag

    This recipe couldn't be simpler. If it's not turning amber, you're not cooking it on high enough heat. Turn your burner up to HIGH, seriously. It takes more than a couple of minutes to start to darken, so be patient and don't leave the kitchen. Once it starts to darken, remove it from the heat, let the bubbles subside for a few seconds to see if it's too your liking. If not, put it on for a bit longer. Some of the bubbles may still be blond and confuse you about this. Trust me, pull it off if there are any amber bubbles.

    Follow her instructions to the letter. I did, no stirring, she means it. As Kelsey says, it couldn't be simpler. My one recommendation is to be sure to let the salt dissolve completely before jarring it. I found a bit of undissolved salt in the bottom of the pan.

    I can't wait to give this as Christmas gifts!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 16, 2011

    Flag

    I love this recipe!!! Everyone i make it for loves it and always wants me to bring it to every event. Ive only had this recipe screw up once and the reason was I didn't have the right equipment and it still came out decent.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 16, 2011

    Flag

    I am a very good cook. In reading this recipe, however, I would boil the sugar, water, butter, and salt all together first. Then, when it is the right color, take it off the heat, add the cream and stir.

    The same holds true when making butter toffee. It will be a sugary mess cooked only with unsalted butter, but turn into a wonderful butter toffee when using salted butter or adding salt to unsalted butter while boiling.

    I've made this many times with salted butter or adding salt to the unsalted butter and it turns out well every time.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.