COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 16

Showing 1-10 of 16

Sort by:

Newest
  • on November 20, 2014

    Flag

    OUTSTANDING. Not a leftover in sight. Perfect balance of sweet/spicy. Will be a repeat for sure. I agree with the comments on prep time, but will have the sauce ready in advance next time. Well worth the effort.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 25, 2013

    Flag

    This is one of my favorite recipes of all time. We can't find any good consistent Chinese take out places in our area so when I want some good take-out style food, I make this. It does take a little bit of planning since the chicken needs marinated. While I am combing the ingredients for the marinade, I mix together the liquid for the sauce in a separate bowl and then I have it ready to go when I'm ready to make the sauce. Just need to chop up the ginger, garlic and scallions and it's super easy to put together. I use the white part of the scallions in the sauce and save the green portion for the garnish. I always double the sauce because there wasn't enough sauce for me the first time I made it according to the recipe. Thanks Kelsey!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 19, 2012

    Flag

    I have made this several times now and other than over cooking it once, it turns out great every time! I have read some of the other reviews, I've made it the same way she says to each time and it always turns out great. I will say, it's not a super fast meal, but doesn't take too long either. Love it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 27, 2012

    Flag

    Wow! Ok, I will admit it was a little more work than I anticipated....BUT it was WELL worth the work!! After reading the spicy reviews, I cut the chili sauce in half. I could not find chinese rice wine so (after reading online NOT to substitute it with cooking wineI decided to try and replace it with white cooking wine. Delish!! I made noodles to go along with it instead of rice. I will be adding this to my make again list for sure! Thanks for posting!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 20, 2012

    Flag

    You need a ZERO star for this one along with the Shrimp Lo Mein recipe you featured on the same show. The chicken was way to spicy (no one could even eat it and definitely not a quick alternative to takeout. I just threw both recipes in the trash after 2 hours making an 'awful' dinner. I just put the chinese take-out menu back on my fridge :

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 14, 2012

    Flag

    Loved this recipe. I noticed one reviewer stated the dish was too salty. I believe they picked up regular soy sauce instead of low sodium soy sauce.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 10, 2012

    Flag

    This is really good!! Will double the sauce next time. The good news is had all the ingredients on hand and made this in no time.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 28, 2012

    Flag

    If 'zero' stars were an option, I would surely award this recipe zero stars. Between this recipe and the lo mein recipe featured in the same episode, I spent an hour and a half prepping the meal and way too much money at the grocery store. The chicken was soggy before it ever went into the sauce and the sauce itself was extremely salty. Although the episode was dubbed "Take Out," it was nowhere close to the sesame chicken we all love to order from our local Chinese restaurant. Save your money, time, and energy and order Chinese delivery. Trust me.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 21, 2012

    Flag

    My family enjoyed this dish. I gave 3 stars because after I added the chicken to the sauce all of the coating came off. I will make again but will make some adjustments.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 30, 2012

    Flag

    I loved the recipe...listen to other comments. Doubled the sauce. Will make again

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.