Skillet Bacon Mac and Cheese

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 47

Showing 21-30 of 47

Sort by:

Newest
  • on April 27, 2012

    Flag

    OMG. I have been on a mission for a long time to find the most perfect mac and cheese and this is it! I didn't even have bacon which would of put it over the top. This is the BEST mac and cheese I have ever had.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 23, 2012

    Flag

    This recipe was a lot of fun to make. It was delicious! I was very happily surprised to find that it tasted even better the next day! All the flavors just melded together and it was so good! Thank you!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 23, 2012

    Flag

    I saw Kelsey make this on the Cooking Channel and it looked so good and easy so I thought I'd give it a try. I had a hard time finding a decently-priced Gruyere cheese in my area. I grated the cheddar myself because it tends to melt better that way. My husband and kids are used to eating and preferring the Blue Box version from the store but they all gave this one a big "Thumbs Up".

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 23, 2012

    Flag

    I made this last night, loved my sauce (I took a few liberties with the recipe, but the breading... Go light. Too much breading ruins the delicate sauce and makes it taste more common.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 08, 2012

    Flag

    It was not bad at all. My family and myself are so use to eating mac n cheese out of a box that it was a little hard to get use to with the different cheeses but the family gave it a 5. They especially loved the bacony crunchies on top. My little 5 yr old that is a very picky eater and picky about her mac n cheese in a box, even ate it. In fact she ask for a 2nd helping.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 02, 2011

    Flag

    I followed the recipe almost the same, but accidentally skipped the heavy cream which still turned out wonderful. I added about 1/2 tsp of salt which was great. The sauce itself seemed a bit salty, so I was worried at first, but when I tasted the whole end result with pasta and bacon bits, it was fabulous! I sprinkled Italian breadcrumb instead of Japanese panko. Thank you for this recipe. This one is a keeper~~

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 27, 2011

    Flag

    Great recipe. Cheesey without being overwhelming. Everyone loved it even though I made a mistake the first time through. Do not make ahead and plan to bake it later. The bechemal sauce will thicken and the end result will be a bit dry, but tasty. Make it in one continuous process and it comes out wonderfully...nearly foolproof. For the life of me I cannot understand why people are trashing the recipe format. One should always read a recipe through before starting. The recipe is crystal clear to me!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 21, 2011

    Flag

    My goodness the was the best Mac and cheese we have ever had. It was great comfort food but tasty doesnt quite describe it; it was more like out of sight. It will be a return item in our house that's for sure

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 01, 2011

    Flag

    This recipe is not for a beginner, it has many steps and to be efficient should be done simultaneously. The outcome: excellent, delicious !!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 28, 2011

    Flag

    Yes very tasty. The cheese sauce was perfectly rich and creamy. I actually added 8 oz. of a certain brand of Deli Deluxe Bacon Cheddar Cheese Slices (cubed them in additon to other cheeses, and added to the bechamel sauce and let it melt in before adding the pasta (The original taste was good but needed something a lil extra. It was sooo good. My kids didnt like the bacon topping too much. My son said it kept him from devouring the whole thing right away. But i guess this is more of a grown up kind of mac and cheese recipe. I also had a bit of trouble with reading the recipe but i would say just take ur time and have all your ingredients ready. Im making this again on Thanksgiving but will leave out the bacon and half the panko crumbs. And this was more like 12 servings not 6.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.