Slow Cooker Bolognese Sauce

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 30

Showing 11-20 of 30

Sort by:

Newest
  • on November 10, 2013

    Flag

    Excellent! Great way to have the sauce cook all day and them come home and fix the pasta. There is enough sauce to freeze one or two bags for later.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 31, 2013

    Flag

    This recipe is a keeper. The slow cooker really makes this so easy. I used 3lbs of meat as one reviewer suggested. I used 1lb ground sirloin, ground pork and ground lamb. This was perfect. I made it before my son's football game on a Saturday morning. When we came home the house was smelling so good. He loved it. I am going to use this sauce for lasagna. Next time I will add fresh basil and oregano. We love those 2 herbs in our household.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 12, 2013

    Flag

    This is a terrific sauce. It makes a lot, great for a weekend cabin. I am passing this on to friends. Thanks!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 20, 2013

    Flag

    This is a very tasty recipe. The only additions I made was I mix 1 lb. of ground lamb with the other two meats. So delicious!!
    I froze 3 separate bags with my food saver and we have this recipe on hectic nights. I also use all organic ingredients and freshly ground nutmeg.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 04, 2013

    Flag

    I was so skeptical of this recipe, but love so many of Kelsey's recipes that I had to try it. Simply put, it was fantastic! My husband spends hours making homemade sauces of all kinds and he was a bit put out because he thought this tasted better than his version. It seems so odd to put ground raw meat into the crockpot - but the meat was certainly cooked, and not only that, it was incredibly tender. It tasted as if I had used veal, it had that soft and tender consistency. I always add more garlic and herbs than most recipes call for, personal taste preference there, but otherwise cooked as described. Highly recommended!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 20, 2013

    Flag

    I'm not a big fan of slow cookers and I'm very particular about what I make in mine, so when I saw this recipe I was a bit skeptical. Having said that, this sauce was fabulous! It was thick, meaty, and delicious. I put it over Rigatoni pasta and served it with a side salad. We really don't eat bread but the next time I make this (and I will, I will serve it with crusty Italian bread because the sauce is so good that you'll want to get every last drop of it. Make sure that when you add the meat you really break it up good or you will end up with lumps of meat. Very yummy, easy sauce to make!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 10, 2013

    Flag

    Been cooking for 30 years and now I have a new delicious recipe to add to my collection. Have made a bolognese sauce before but not nearly as good as Kelsey's. Hers has a good meaty flavor with a bit of tang from the wine. You don't need to brown the meat first before adding to the pot. Thank you so much Kelsey! I am making again this weekend for company.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 09, 2013

    Flag

    Fabulous, Fantasic, Wonderful. Followed the recipe exactly and it was GREAT!!!!!!!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 05, 2013

    Flag

    This sauce was wonderful and the whole family loved it. I will definitly make it again!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 09, 2013

    Flag

    Tasty!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.