Spiced Pumpkin Crumb Cake

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

3

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 9

Showing 1-9 of 9

Sort by:

Newest
  • on September 29, 2013

    Flag

    This looks great but that is it. The cake is did not ever get done, too much stuff for a 9 inch pan, ran over. very heavy and no flavor in the cake or filling. very disappointed.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 25, 2012

    Flag

    After reading the reviews I omitted one egg white in the batter and about a half a stick of butter in the topping. I left out about 2/3 cup of the batter, 1/2 cup filling and 2/3 cup topping. My cake could have been a little bit more moist but otherwise it looked just like Kelsey's! Wonderful recipe and I will certainly make again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 02, 2012

    Flag

    I did it my way and used 3/4c olive oil for the butter in the cake,a nd I baked this in a 9x13 pan it was good.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 29, 2012

    Flag

    Agree with one of the post below. Worked very hard on this cake but the results were less than desirable...I think this needs to be reworked. I used the spring-form pan and followed the directions to the letter. I cook and bake all the time and for the most part have no problems...this one had a problem! Too much for the 9" spring-form pan, bubbled over in gobs, good thing I had it on a cookie sheet. Also 1 TABLESPOON of baking power?????

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 16, 2011

    Flag

    the flavor of this cake was great but after 1 hr 40 min of baking and a tester coming out clean, it fell in the center and was clearly not cooked.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 14, 2011

    Flag

    I agree with photofun's review of this recipe, I was sorely disappointed! Don't waste your time! I am a SEASONED baker and I too followed the recipe to the letter! The pan is NOT the right size at all, it made a huge mess all over my oven....which proceeded to later cause a fire! And that's only my first complaint!! The ratio of flour to butter in the crumb part of this recipe is OFF! It has too much butter because it wasn't a crumb texture at all in the finished product. The top of the cake burned, "crumb" sank into the cake itself, and the bottom of the cake was dry?? This was the worst cake I've EVER made in the over 25 years of baking I've done! I too feel as if I wasted a pound of butter and 2-1/2 hours of my life for a cake that was clearly not tested in the kitchens better for recipe accuracy! As Photofun stated, thank GOD I didn't wait till Thanksgiving to make this cake!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 13, 2011

    Flag

    I think this needs to be reworked. I feel like I wasted a pound of butter and 7 eggs. I used the spring-form pan and followed the directions to the letter. I cook and bake all the time and for the most part have no problems...this one had a problem!
    Too much for the 9" spring-form pan, bubbled over in gobs, The crumble was starting to get really well done and the cake was not done. After 1 hour 50 minutes I took it out. It was still showing signs of not being done in the center. After trying it, the outside of the cake was really well done, burnt in some parts on the edges, cake was dry and the pumpkin area in the middle of the cake was not completely done. Glad I tried this today instead of for Thanksgiving like I planned.
    I would put this in a bigger pan like a baking dish perhaps or perhaps try and cut down the recipe to fit the pan better and keep it in. What a shame, had high hopes on this one.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 11, 2011

    Flag

    Our family and guests devoured it.

    Didn't have a springform pan, so made it in a deep-dish ceramic pot (Heath to be exact :o. Ran out of butter for the crumble so used half butter/half margarine.

    Scooped it out with a large round spoon. It turned out great. The kids have already put it on the menu for Thanksgiving Day.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 09, 2011

    Flag

    Very Good!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.