Sweet and Spicy Shredded Pork

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 16

Showing 1-10 of 16

Sort by:

Newest
  • on February 08, 2014

    Flag

    First, I haven't used this cut of meat before and I won't use it again. It is so fatty to the point that I got rid of half of the roast in just fat alone. You think you're getting a great deal but half of it goes in the trash. Second, this cut of meat should never cook in liquid. If you're going to use it, roast it slow and on a rack or smoke it for hours. That fat needs to cook off. Finally, and this wouldn't seem to be Kelsey's fault but the recipe as it is written here, it not what I saw her make on tv. The Cooking Channel and Kelsey need to proof each others recipe before it's posted here.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 29, 2014

    Flag

    Haven't tried it yet. But wanted to know what Cola is? Is that the soda? Thanks

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 29, 2014

    Flag

    I just watched the show on which Kelsey made this and wanted to print the recipe right away. On the show she cooked it at 300 degrees and it was covered. Nothing in the recipe says to cover it and it says cook at 350, She bumped the temperature up to 350 when she removed the foil covering it. It would be nice if the recipe and method on the show were in sync. I haven't made this yet so I'm going to give it 3 stars because I intend to and I anticipate it being good. I'll up the rating if the results warrant it.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 19, 2014

    Flag

    I have made this recipe five times. It does feed a crowd and is always well-received. It is a keeper and I love it. I've made the 7# pork butt for company, or for us (two people). When I made it for us, I made pulled pork sandwiches, then tortillas and froze the rest and made chow mein. So flavorful. Thank you Kelsey and Cooking Channel!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 13, 2013

    Flag

    Since trying this pulled pork recipe, I have now done it more times than I can count and have had to print out recipe for everyone! it is wonderful!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 23, 2012

    Flag

    Absolutely easy and delicious!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 22, 2012

    Flag

    Fantastically tasty and so easy for a big crowd. Actually got to enjoy
    the party as set up a self serve. A big hit with everyone. Used Nigella Lawson New Orleans Coleslaw as the apple cider and maple syrup nicely complimented the aromatic flavours of the Pork. Seriously yum with lots of dips on tap, anchovie & sundried tomatoe tapenade and feta & basil with loads of different breads. Highly Recommend.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 19, 2012

    Flag

    this is really good I am not fond of pork but I could probably eat a lot of this. gave my co-workers the recipe

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 26, 2012

    Flag

    This was good. I felt like it needed an extra kick to it. I would make again. I did what the previous reviewer did and strained the liquid and put the pork back in the sauce.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 15, 2012

    Flag

    Love pulled pork and want to share a couple secrets. I will almost cut the shoulder in half (butterfly, apply rub on the inside of the shoulder too, and this creates more flavor.

    I also will strain the final liquid from the pain, reserve the onions, use a gravy separater, pour the separated liquid back into the pain, disgard the fat, and put the reserved onions back into the pan, use my handblender to crush the onions and put the pulled pork in the sauce. It cannot miss.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Simply Laura

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.