Angel Cake with Blackberries and White Currants

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

3

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 12

Showing 1-10 of 12

Sort by:

Newest
  • on April 05, 2012

    Flag

    love it....i will try the same method with different fruits....is super easy...thanks...

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 12, 2011

    Flag

    Wonderful tasty light and delicious. 400 for an hour is too long but don't go the distance by time at 30 mins note the golden color and pierce it with a toothpick to check done ness the cake will tell you when it's ready. It was a big hit at the table.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 04, 2011

    Flag

    I have made this cake twice now and the results were fantastic. Rave reviews from my family and co-workers. I live at 5,000 feet and so the cake really didn't need a full hour. The batter is very light and airy. I used my kitchen aid to whip the egg whites to stiff peaks. I lowered the heat to 375 degrees and checked it after 45 mins. I used strawberries and blueberries or whatever berries are on sale. Thanks Laura!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 24, 2011

    Flag

    I tried this recipe because it's simplicity was appealing. The recipe is very easy, however I did not end up with the fluffy, light batter described in the recipe; mine lost volume after adding the sifted flour. After reading the previous reviews, I decided to bake for 15 minutes at 400 degrees, then reduce the temperature to 310 for 25 minutes. The cake was actually done after only 10 minutes at 310, golden on top and beginning to pull away from the sides of the pan. The texture and taste are reminiscent of french toast - slightly eggy and mildly sweet. Not unpleasant, just a little odd and not particularly cake-like. I would probably serve it at breakfast rather than use as a dessert. Pound cake might be a better choice for a dessert with add-ons.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 07, 2011

    Flag

    super easy 1 hour is way to long i cut the recipe in half and only took 30 min and an exter 3 mins it would of burnt

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 26, 2011

    Flag

    When I saw Laura make this I liked the simplicity of the recipe. I did read the reviews and tried horans' method but the cake came out rubbery. I think I will try again and reduce the temp after 5 minutes as after the first 15 minutes at 400 the cake was already golden on top. After 15 minutes at the lower temp of 310 I will test the cake as 25 minutes overcooked it. On the bright side I dropped the cake on the floor and it bounced right back up on the table!

    Love the show. Since retiring I'm now the chief cook and bottle washer and I'm always on the lookout for new recipes.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 05, 2011

    Flag

    After reading the 5 earlier comments I tweeked the cooking method a little. 15min at 400 and then lowered the oven to 310 for a further 25. Light well risen egg sponge cake reminisent of something my mother made when I was a kid.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 03, 2011

    Flag

    Directions are incorrect. Wasted effort and ingrediants. My grandson
    fed it to the ducks and they refused to eat it. I should have known better 400 degrees for one hour, burnt it to a crisp.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 29, 2011

    Flag

    burnt it!!!! trusted recipe to be correct,should have read the reviews first. easy recipes, easy ingredients will try again and bake at 15 min. check and if more time needed and 15 minutes. minutes.love the show.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 24, 2011

    Flag

    The first time I made this cake, it burned to a crisp. I should have known not to cook a cake at 400 degrees for an hour! The second time I made this cake, I put the oven on 375 and cooked it for 40 minutes. The bottom layer burned, but I was able to cut it off. The cake is very plain. I won't make this again! The directions are wrong. Something is off on this one. Don't waste your eggs and time. Make a pound cake instead.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.