Aubergine and Cumin Charlottes with Tomato and Coriander Salad

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 12

Showing 1-10 of 12

Sort by:

Newest
  • on June 19, 2014

    Flag

    I was surprised at how delicious this was as I think the ingredients are so simple. I didn't even make the salad as I was doing a trial run before making for company, and yes, I will make if for company. I had a concern because the eggplants I could find at the time here in California were small. I do think you may have to adjust and add an extra for lining the ramekins, but even without complete coverage they turned out great. I even added a little pepper and oregano instead of so much cumin (my husband is not a fan) and it still tasted delicious. One reservation was with the small eggplants the skin did not soften as well, and I think I would have taken it off before making the ramekins when this is the case. Maybe the type of eggplant? Two thumbs up.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 23, 2012

    Flag

    Ohhhh love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 05, 2012

    Flag

    As eggplant is one of my favorite veggies this recipe is rated as outstanding by my standards. My husband, on the other hand, likes eggplant in many dishes but is much harder to please. I undercooked the halved eggplants but made up for it by microwaving the flesh until it was fully cooked. I will use more eggplant to line the cooking containers (the ones I use for French Onion Soups I din't have enough overlap. Even with my little mistakes this dish looked great and was tasty and rewarding. Back to my husband. His quote, "I could eat this dish anytime you would like to make it. It is delicious!"

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 27, 2012

    Flag

    I didn't make the tomato salad but the eggplant dish was spectacularly delicious! The recipe is very simple but has some discreet steps to prepare the eggplant before filling the ramekins. Just keep in mind that you'll need two slices of eggplant for each ramekin so I ended up with five servings rather than six with the eggplants I used. It all depends on how thinly you can slice your eggplant, keeping in mind that the cooked eggplant will be very delicate and can easily tear when you're handling it. Then again, when the dish is unmolded a torn piece of eggplant will not matter much. For some reason I felt like I was tasting nutmeg in this dish even though I didn't use any, but maybe a little nutmeg in the egg mixture might be good.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 28, 2012

    Flag

    This recipe was delicious. Instead of ramekins I used my meatloaf pan and layered the slices (terrine style and on each layered slice I put the eggplant mixture and sprinkled some feta cheese. It was so delicious that I made it the next day again, but this time I doubled the recipe so that I have a full meatloaf pan. Great dish to have in your fridge for a quick meal.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 06, 2011

    Flag

    Incredible dish. I think it's beautiful on the plate and great as a first course.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 06, 2011

    Flag

    Excellent dish, though I didn't have the single serving oven-safe dishes so I made it into more like a lasagna, added some mascapone and 1 more eggplant to give it more body with a larger pan. My guests loved it, 2 of them said they'd never tried eggplant before but based on this def would again. I blogged about it on my site and you can read about it there, click on my name and it should show up under about me

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 10, 2011

    Flag

    Excellent! I served the charlotte (without the salad as a side next to roasted salmon on basmati brown rice. I also plan to keep this in my repertoire and serve it at a brunch with the tomato salad. It never ceases to amaze me how foods change their character when cooked. If you're not a fan of eggplant, try this recipe. I think you'll become a convert.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 01, 2011

    Flag

    Oh so elegant and tasty. Best to use fresh eggplant. I specialize in growing heirloom vegetables and raise free range chickens for meat and eggs, and the use of absolutely fresh ingredients in this wonderful recipe makes for a delightful and satisfying meal. Lovely flavors, and easy to make!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 18, 2011

    Flag

    I loved the show and tried this the other night. I think you need to use long eggplants to overlap the top. I used my garden fresh ones which fell too short but I had lots! I used 7 oz ramekins and was only able to just line them, no overlap. I used olive oil in the ramekins. I also used ground cumin and I added cayenne pepper for extra kick. I did need to cook them for about 25-30 minutes, they were puffed and bubbly and when I touched the top they were a little firm. For the tomatoes I had a lot of Romas so I roasted a baking sheet full, peeled them, flavored them with s&p and chopped fresh basil and let this sit on the counter.(I halved them and seeded them prior to roasting. I roasted flesh side down.) I then served this along side one of the Charlottes. It was the BOMB!!!!! Just made my own spin, but the flavor of the eggplant and goat cheese with the roasted tomatoes, yum. Great for vegetarians.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Carnival Eats

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.