COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 30

Showing 1-10 of 30

Sort by:

Newest
  • on May 11, 2014

    Flag

    This is an absolutely wonderful recipe. Show stopper and crowd pleaser. A fellow foodie said it tasted better than any restaurant version he has had. Thank you Laura for making cooking fun, easy and exciting. You have taken my cooking to a whole different level.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 24, 2014

    Flag

    I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was a lovely classic recipe for Beef Bourguignon. I disagree with jake.chase66 about the cost. $5/serving is absolutely reasonable and the time invested is well worth it. I don't think you can compare it to a steak!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 22, 2014

    Flag

    I thought it was very Julia! Since I grew up learning to cook from her, I realized that this is a beef version of Coq Au Vin. You do not have to buy expensive cuts - I bought lean beef for stew and it turned out like filet mignon. I only used two pans. One for browning the meat, onion and carrot - which I deglazed and then washed - and one for the stovetop/oven. I used the clean first pan to then make the garnish. I even halved the recipe and it came out perfect. I just started Weight Watchers, so I built this recipe and it was 13 points per serving - not too shabby for a dinner. Oh, and it did make my house smell wonderful! We don't drink wine, but I found little 500 ml cartons at the grocery store - they worked great. Will definitely make again...

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 25, 2014

    Flag

    The recipe is fantastic, but it ought to carry a warning label for being absurdly expensive. I used chuck roast, at $5.99/lb, which turned out to be 21% unusable fat which had to be just cut away. Decent red wine is now $9.00 a bottle, a bag of pearl onions was $3.56, so even if you have the bacon, the beef stock and the other minor ingredients in the fridge, making 1/2 this recipe (4 servings) costs over $20.

    Second, preparation takes forever and uses every pot in the house, browning, removing, straining, reducing, etc. It probably absorbs a half cup of olive oil to prevent everything you brown from becoming black. I started at 4:15 A.M. and finished cleaning up at 7:20, and what do I have? A stew, but a fantastic stew. For the same price I could have had a steak in 5 minutes.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 29, 2013

    Flag

    Comfort food at it's best!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 08, 2013

    Flag

    I have made this for many Sunday dinners and it always gets the best compliments! Makes up for a large gathering easily. If you want to impress friends and family without going broke this is my go to! I serve with Yorkshire puddings. Great Recipe!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 22, 2013

    Flag

    Easy and delicious, taste is very extravagent, and lux.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 10, 2013

    Flag

    I loved this recipe. Old fashion cooking with all the best ingredients. I used sirloin tip and Chilean wine, not the most expensive of course. I followed the recipe exactly, I browned the beef in a large oven proof pot and had no splatters, delicious. ,!!!! I served it with potatoes and a baguette. Laura Calder...... I never missed your programs........ I wish they would run again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 24, 2012

    Flag

    This recipe felt like it took forever. I wish I had googled Julia Child's recipe first because it had a helpful tip about using a paper towel to dry the meat before trying to brown it. I would not have attempted this recipe if I realized how oily the process would be. I had insane amounts of splattering during the meat browning process which might have been from the olive oil she said to use before browning or from not drying the meat properly....it's going to be a pain to clean. I really wanted to be like every other reviewer and love making this. I loved watching her make it! I was so motivated but I think this was more of a recipe for an intermediate cook trying to go easy than an easy cook trying to go intermediate. All that said...it was really, really good when I finally got a chance to taste it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 02, 2012

    Flag

    AMAZING!!! It was easy and delicious!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 3 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Carnival Eats

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.