COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 13

Showing 1-10 of 13

Sort by:

Newest
  • on February 15, 2014

    Flag

    A dish that made me feel like a demigod!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 09, 2014

    Flag

    This was a spectacular main course for our Christmas Eve dinner this year. I cooked it to a perfect medium rare of 130 degrees which was delicious. I loved the duxelles and the puff pastry, which I didn't trim and therefore made a delicious way to sample the dish when it came out of the oven. I especially appreciated how the preparation can be done in stages and refrigerated so you can do other things (like enjoy cocktails) in between. Can't wait to make this again!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 16, 2013

    Flag

    The best recipe I have ever done !!!! French food is amazing !!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 05, 2013

    Flag

    I have used this recipe twice and am now making it for my grandsons. This is the easiest and by far the best recipe I have found for Beef Wellington.
    Thanks so much Ms. Calder for making it so easy.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 24, 2012

    Flag

    My New Year's Resolution is to learn how to cook "French"! I saw the program & recorded it! I substituted a precooked small pork roast [browning it, etc] and followed the directions. Chopping the shallot, mushrooms and parsley took the most time! Can't wait for leftovers tonight!

    Looking forward to preparing the Salmon en Croute.....

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 28, 2011

    Flag

    This was my first effort with puff pastry, but is something I've always wanted to try. Christmas dinner was a smashing success, thanks to this stellar recipe. I had to substitute a few of the ingredients (sweet onion for the shallots, Pinot Noir for the Madeira, but the end result was still quite wonderful. I used my food processor to do the mincing for me and, lucky me, had more than enough of the mushroom duxelles for the 2 1/4 pound beef tenderloin. So, I saved the excess and it is extraordinary on crackers or crustini or pretty much anything else. My finished product was perfectly cooked, exactly to the recipe's specifications. Next time I make this (and there WILL be a next time!, I'll be a little more tidy with the edges of the puff pastry and trim them off a bit more. Mine didn't quite resemble the one in the photo with the recipe -- it looked more like a little hovercraft! Oh, how delicious it was, though. Highly recommended!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 26, 2011

    Flag

    I tried this recipe for Christmas dinner and it was a huge success! I didn't use the duxelles because of food allergies in the family. To keep the roast from making a soggy mess of the crust I just wrapped the roast in a few crepes. Worked like a charm. I used several other Laura Calder recipes for the rest of the meal: peas with bacon and white onions, potatoes Anna, and her strawberry mouse. All of them great successes. I also made a blender hollandaise and carrots with tarragon (steamed young carrots topped with butter and sprigs of fresh tarragon.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 25, 2011

    Flag

    Oh my, this was just yummy, and so so easy to make, even for a novice like me.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 06, 2011

    Flag

    wow!!! i love french! simple enough and absolutely delicious!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 04, 2011

    Flag

    Sooooo good!
    I was stuck and had to use a pork loin instead of a beef loin. Still a-ma-zing! My husband is a picky eater and was questioning me during the process, however, when he tasted it, he became a different man (LOL He now wants me to make it again :-D
    This is so pretty too. I`m serving it tonight to a small family gathering because it is so impressive looking, tasty, and I can actually spend time with my family while it cooks.
    Laura, is there anything you do that`s not good?

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.