Buckwheat Crepes with Thyme Cream Tomatoes

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 9

Showing 1-9 of 9

Sort by:

Newest
  • on December 05, 2013

    Flag

    I just served this delightful meal to my Canasta group. Everybody loved it. I followed the recipe exactly. The tomatoes were a bit soft, but still looked wonderful plated next to the crepes. I think next time I will use smaller grape tomatoes. They will likely need less cooking time. I will also add a large finely chopped scallion to the pan when I put in the tomatoes. I will also double the tomato part of the recipe since most people wanted seconds of them. Delicious!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 06, 2012

    Flag

    I just made this for lunch w/ a regular crepe batter and less sugar and it's devine! I love carmelized, warm tomatoes with this sauce and used fresh oregano. Easy to make and manipulate.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 05, 2012

    Flag

    I just made the tomatoes as I was searching for an elegant side dish. This was EXQUISITE and so EASY!! You must try this!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 23, 2012

    Flag

    I served just the tomatoes as an appetizer. Wonderful!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 31, 2011

    Flag

    As with all of Laura's recipes, this exceeded expectations. Very simple, elegant and tasty--esp. with homegrown tomatoes. Buckwheat crepes are the perfect foil for the slighty sweet/tart sauce created by the butter, tomatoes and thyme. Going to be a go-to recipe!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 23, 2011

    Flag

    I just finished a very tasty dish! I picked a couple of heirloom tomatoes out of the backyard and followed a very simple recipe. I had to use half and half as I did not have the cream. I also did not do the buckwheat crepes for the same reason I did not use cream. I can only look forward to buying buckwheat flour and cream for my next attempt. I would recommend this for any tomato lover and it would be a hit at your next dinner party.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 03, 2011

    Flag

    Awesome and easy. Made only the tomatoes during a dinner party with beef au bleu (Laura C recipe also.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 24, 2011

    Flag

    I made regular crepes b/c no buckwheat to be found. The tomatoes and sauce were very good. It was an elegant dish.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 16, 2011

    Flag

    I made this for dinner last night, and fortunately there was enough to take some for lunch today too. For such a simple dish, it is so rich and satisfying, and pretty on the plate too. My tomatoes broke down a bit and gave the creamy sauce a slight tartness which was so good. Fresh thyme is the perfect herb for this, and I loved how the spongy crepe soaked up the delicious sauce. I just had some asparagus on the side and couldn't have been happier.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.