COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

3

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 13

Showing 1-10 of 13

Sort by:

Newest
  • on November 02, 2014

    Flag

    I've had spectacular results, once halving it with a 7" round cake pan, and once with the full recipe. Some of the problems other reviewers had are avoidable:

    - don't walk away from from the stove for more than a few seconds
    - use the best chocolate available, Valhrona or similar
    - "espresso" doesn't mean espresso powder or beans, but brewed
    - half cognac, half Grand Marnier - more aromatic without being too orange-y
    - don't let the bowl touch the water; if steam escapes between the pot and the bowl, reduce the
    heat or it will seize; it's better to start over than make a grainy cake.
    - if the eggs don't thicken, gradually increase and continue beating - the eggs should be warm to
    the touch by the end
    - for something so rich, this is surprising light and with whipped cream on the side, it's ethereal

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 21, 2014

    Flag

    I'm a great home cook and cumbersome recipes do not intimidate me so in my quest for low sugar, no flour desserts I decided to give this one a whirl. Laura wasn't kidding when she said this recipe would use every bowl in the house! You can imagine my disgust when, after all the steps and dirty bowls, I found that the stupid cake won't come out of the pan. It's a non-stick surface pan, I sprayed it with non-stick spray, and used an old trick my great grandmother taught me about baking chocolate layers - coat the pan with unsweetened cocoa powder instead of flour. All of this was to no avail. At this point, the cake is still in the pan on my kitchen counter and we will be dipping it out with a spoon! Tastes great. Looks like hell!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 04, 2014

    Flag

    Many times cooking channel messes up the recipes.
    like one time a recipe called for 1/2 cup of black pepper.
    I was choking wen I was eating from that recipe. it turn out that.
    it was 1/2 teaspoon. I had made many recipes from Laura and they.
    are all real good. is not Laura fault.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 18, 2014

    Flag

    I knew from watching the show that something was off with the on-air recipe. Laura skipped important stages, like what was the whip cream for after she put the cake in the oven? I assumed it was to put on top of a slice of cake(?) Also, Laura did not specify the amount of cream, although you could guess it looked like a cup. You could only do this recipe if you had it printed, not from watching her show. Kelsey Nixon (Kelsey's Essentials) lays EVERYTHING out for you-from the ingredients to the tools she uses (I like Laura's deep cake pan but can't find it. Good thing though, since she used half a recipe). I have cooked Kelsey's recipes from the TV. Too much confusion here.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 06, 2013

    Flag

    I found the original recipe from Julia Child. just google Le Gâteau au Chocolat l’Éminence Brune(Bittersweet Chocolate Cake)
    Recipe by Julia Child... So glad I check the reviews here before I tried to make this, Lauras recipes are usually wonderful, so this must be a error on the part of cookingchannel.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 30, 2013

    Flag

    amazing. this is my second time making this. the texture is super great :

    make sure you let it cool and set after you take it out of the cake pan though. i noticed the condensation from the cake pan was making my cake a little too... mushy? but after it cooled the texture was like fluffy fudge (if that makes any sense

    it was a lot of work but WELL worth the effort (and clean up!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 01, 2013

    Flag

    Do not waste your time with this recipe. I repeat, do not waste your time.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 14, 2012

    Flag

    The final product tasted very good and the texture was light, but it was not at all what I expected after watching Laura make the cake on TV. Her cake rose quite a bit after baking, which would give it a lighter texture. I used Trader Joe's 72% dark chocolate and the consistency of the chocolate changed as it melted and thickened (I think it began to seize - so I took it off the bain-marie to allow the chocolate to melt more slowly. However, that made it a lot harder to fold the chocolate into the egg mixture without deflating most of the air out of it.

    I am wondering if the seizing was more likely due to the ratio of liquid to chocolate in that recipe, or the %cocoa solids. I hope that whomever doubled the recipe kept the right proportions.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 19, 2012

    Flag

    i guess i need a bigger spatula :D

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 19, 2012

    Flag

    I made this for my French class & everyone loved it. The flavor is VERY good. The texture light and airy at room temp., thick and dense when cold. However, my chocolate seized on me while it was melting w/ the coffee etc. The batter looked o.k. when mixed, but it didn't rise very much. My cake was about half the height. I followed the recipe from TV and when Laura made it, her chocolate was still smooth after it melted. Did anyone else have a problem w/ seizing or have any advice to prevent it? I really want to make this cake again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.