Cream of Lentil Soup with Chorizo Croutes

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 11

Showing 1-10 of 11

Sort by:

Newest
  • on January 31, 2014

    Flag

    Is it possible to get the nutritional information listed along with ingredients and recipe? Thanks.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 07, 2013

    Flag

    Delicious, fast, easy. Didn't have to soak the lentils. Also omitted chorizo as I didn't have any on hand. Definitely will double up ingredients next time- this amount provided only 4-5 bowls as a meal.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 23, 2012

    Flag

    I was skeptical of lentil soup to begin with, but I've now made this several times. The soup itself is straight forward flavor and the squeeze of lemon is a must to brighten it up and cut through the fat of the chorizo and drizzle of oil. It's impressed everyone with it's flavor despite being so simple and inexpensive to make, it's definitely a recipe to make time and time again. I like to serve it with Mark Bittman's No knead bread. An inexpensive, but impressive weeknight meal.

    The biggest feat however was my husband loving this soup despite not liking the lentil soups he's had in the past.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 02, 2012

    Flag

    Making this for the second time!!! Very simple to make, delicious, and looks so special with the chorizo croutes! My husband loves it, too. I recommend doubling the recipe, because you WILL want leftovers!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 31, 2012

    Flag

    LOVED YOUR SOUP LAURA. LOVE YOUR SHOW AS WELL. YOU OFFER SOMETHING NO ONE ELSE HAS, AND YOU DO IT VERY WELL. THE CHORIZO CROUTES WAS A PERFECT TOUCH TO THIS YUMMY SOUP.....WE LOVE THE FEEL OF YOUR SHOW AS WELL ......

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 05, 2012

    Flag

    Another hit with my husband. He's not a huge lentil fan, but he loved this dish.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 12, 2012

    Flag

    This is a great recipe. It is warm and filling and very healthy. Instead of the chorizo I used turkey bacon and some croutons. Just as good. Also you can substitute split peas for the lentils. But the best thing I can say about this recipe is my husband hates beans and he loves this soup.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 14, 2011

    Flag

    This soup was flavorful and easy to prepare. That said, I was expecting a little more body in the end product; I think next time I'll use 1 1/2 cups lentils to give it some heft. Also, I've got to find a chorizo that stays in one piece when cooked. Mine cooked down to a greasy, orange mush. We made it work, by stirring the chorizo crumbles into the soup, and it was yummy, if a bit messy.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 19, 2011

    Flag

    Loved this recipe! Delicious and very easy to make. Would recommend anyone to try and if you haven't ever had Lentil Soup before this should turn you into a lentil lover! :

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 04, 2011

    Flag

    I was really sceptical of this one, but tried it anyway. Wow! This is actually delecious!

    I used pepperoni instead of chorizo -none of that where I live -, and it tastes like the fatty part of bacon when it is cooked to a crisp. Amazing! Fantastic! Succulent!

    Another great recipe Laura.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.