French Lentils with Walnuts and Goat Cheese

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 10

Showing 1-10 of 10

Sort by:

Newest
  • on June 21, 2014

    Flag

    A friend of mine made a dish like this about 6 years ago in Chicago. She suggested using pre-made lentils. I'm lucky enough to live in California, so Trader Joe's are everywhere. I used their lentils, their Chevre, etc. I cooked the onion/garlic in my wok, added some Chinese greens for fiber and color, threw in the lentils, stir fried everything together. I took it off the heat, brightened it with fresh lemon in lieu of vinegar (just a personal preference), put the goat cheese & walnuts in and viola! Brilliant. Thanks for the easy, quick recipe (10 minutes) that makes such an affordable, nutritious vegetarian dinner. :) Mrs. Yeo

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 28, 2014

    Flag

    I love this recipe. I'm lucky to live in a metropolitan city where I can buy most any ingredient. However I do not have walnut oil on hand and tried grapeseed oil. Still very good. Also not a fan of balsamic vinegar, but discovered white balsamic and find more to my taste. Having it for lunch with French bread and salad as we speak.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 15, 2014

    Flag

    A favorite for brown bag lunches, dinner sides, or just as an afternoon snack. Adore!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 31, 2013

    Flag

    I am SO glad to have been introduced to du Puy lentils...I never knew they existed until I saw the show. Purchased them online and they knock all other lentils out of the park. This dish is fabulous and is a regular in my kitchen, along with the delectable roasted beetroot and greens. It is just a perfect meal!! Thanks, Laura!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 01, 2013

    Flag

    Exotic and interesting. I, like others, had to add more water as the lentils cooked. Perhaps it depends on the invisible factor: just how old ARE my lentils de Puys? At any rate, even my husband (who is severely prejudiced against almost all things French - he makes an exception for Champagne enjoyed it and said he would be happy to have it again. I really enjoyed the contrasts of taste and texture between the walnuts, chèvre, and lentils. The splash of balsamic also makes a very distinctive contribution.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 14, 2012

    Flag

    I made this tonight for dinner. We put it over brown rice and left the goat cheese on the side. (We're like Papa Bear, Mama Bear, and Baby Bear with the goat cheese- Papa doesn't like much at all, I like a little, and Baby Bear LOVES piles and piles of it! It was easy to make and very tasty. The most difficult part was babysitting the lentils; maybe I had the heat up too high or something, but I had to keep adding more water. Not a big deal since I was working on other things in the kitchen at the same time. My daughter wants this on our weekly dinner rotation!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 10, 2012

    Flag

    Easy, and a great blend of flavors! Incredible winner recipe from Laura again!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 03, 2012

    Flag

    This dish is fantastic! Even without the goat cheese.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 03, 2012

    Flag

    Although a bit time consuming, this was a simple dish to make. It had great flavor and I liked the combination of textures with the crunchy walnuts with the soft lentils. I substituted olive oil for the walnut oil since I didn't have any. I didn't much care for the goat cheese on it and I will be omitting this next time I make this dish. I added some cooked farro to the lentils to make this a complete meal and made roasted beets and sauted spinach as side dishes.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Carnival Eats

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.