Halibut with Brown Butter, Crushed Chickpeas with Olives and Roasted Cumin Carrots

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 10

Showing 1-10 of 10

Sort by:

Newest
  • on July 19, 2013

    Flag

    I didn't make the whole recipe just the halibut with the butter sauce. It's divine!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 13, 2013

    Flag

    My husband and I both really enjoyed this recipe. The beans were our favorite part. The lemon and the olives made a perfect compliment to the fish.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 02, 2012

    Flag

    After being without an oven for four months, I was ready to cook something great when my new oven finally arrived. I could not have chosen a better first recipe. I made everything, plus the potatoes roasted in duck fat. The only thing disappointing about this meal was that we ate so much of it, there were hardlyany leftovers! Loved this recipe!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 08, 2012

    Flag

    I was a little disappointed with my beans, but I'm not sure if the recipe is the problem. I thought the beans were a little dry, and that may be because: (1 my beans were a little undercooked (despite soaking them for two days due to laziness, and despite simmering them for more than one hour and (2 i forgot to sprinkle the olive oil. When the fish, beans and carrots are eaten together though it tastes great! I would recommend going easy on the cumin seeds because they have a strong flavor.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 02, 2012

    Flag

    I saw the show today and had already planned tilapia. I used canned garbanzo beans and Trader Joe's olive tapenade. I didn't add the lemon zest/juice. They were terrific! To the roasted carrots I didn't have the cumin seeds but ground cumin; I added fennel and coriander seeds which I crushed and the carrots were delicious.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 23, 2011

    Flag

    Light and healthy with great flavor. I also used canned garbanzos and only had tilapia on hand. I will definitely make this again!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 13, 2011

    Flag

    I've made these chickpeas again and again and every time I do it's just raves from all our friends. Soaking them overnight is the best way and they cook very quickly after that. A sprinkling of thyme goes well also, minus the rest, but it's always nice to vary things now and then. We'll be enjoying these for a long time to come.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 05, 2011

    Flag

    Turned out great. Used canned garbanzo beans. I didn't read the directions carefully enough and was just looking at the ingredient list when I put all the lemon juice in. Was way to much, so threw in a second can of garbanzos and a sprinkle of sugar to cut the acidity. I had some escolar, so used that. Thin fish, but turned out great. Will definitely make again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 03, 2011

    Flag

    Very tasty! I would totally make this again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 02, 2011

    Flag

    Watched this episode Saturday morning and decided to try it. WOW! Used Chilean Sea Bass and canned garbanzos but everything else exactly as written. Could not have been more pleased. What an easy and fantastic meal. I will make this recipe again and again. I intend to make it for dinner guests as well. Thank you Laura!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Carnival Eats

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.