COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 10

Showing 1-10 of 10

Sort by:

Newest
  • on May 15, 2014

    Flag

    Does anyone know if this recipe can be doubled? Cookies were easy and taste great. The flavor is mild at first, but gets more intense as they cool. So if you can, let them cool. I didn't need any extra flour. The dough was soft, but didn't stick much. My husband is a bee keeper, so thank you for a terrific recipe that uses some of his home grown honey.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 23, 2013

    Flag

    Amazing cookie, hint of honey and crisp. Wonderful with cup of coffee in the morning.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 03, 2012

    Flag

    These cookies are the BEST! Thanx Laura. Please add more of your easy & fantastic recipes! =

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 10, 2012

    Flag

    Absolutely fantastic cookie! These are our new favorite cookies! I use a snowflake for winter cookies, and a maple leaf other times of the year - the shape does not matter. I have found a BRIEF chilling of the dough helps, but too long and they are difficult to roll out. I usually dont need it but try a bit of cornstarch sifted over the rolling surface instead of flour to keep them crispy.

    I have made a couple of variations and they are all great. The best variation I have done is to top them with a sprinkle of kosher or specialty salt! The salt brings out the wonderful sweet flavor of the honey. Sounds crazy but is delicious! Try replacing part of the honey with maple syrup - yummy; add 1/2 t cardamom ( or replace cinnamon if you don't like cinnamon and they are great too.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 01, 2011

    Flag

    I chilled the dough before cutting and used a tiny bit of flour on the bottom of the board and plastic wrap on the top so as to not get too much flour in and make the cookies too tough. I love the flavor, but I think I won't cook them to such a crisp next time. Still LOVE these though. Some of the best cookies I have ever had of made :D

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 11, 2011

    Flag

    A-ma-zing! The dough is very soft, so I just added a bit more flour while rolling it until it was the consistency I liked. 12 min worked perfect for me. I also used salted butter, and a very strong tasting honey.

    Later, I tried a variation of this recipe since my husband does not like cinnamon. I replaced the teaspoon of cinnamon for a teaspoon of vanilla extract. Phenomenal cookie!

    The best part? Since there is no egg, you can eat all the raw dough you want :-D

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 27, 2011

    Flag

    Fleur de Lys, Heart in Hand, no matter what shape, this dough is amazing in flavor. I did have a bit of a problem with the softness of the dough, so I chilled it before the bake. I figure if a recipe started in grams, it should be used that way, or trouble is down the road, but I found that it was so sticky I had to add flour to the board and worked in less than a hand full more. Could the bakers here and Laura for that matter confirm the measurements of the ingredients? Want these to be ever so perfect.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 18, 2011

    Flag

    My grandmother and mother would make these cookies every Christmas.
    I miss them thanks you so much for showing me how to make these.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 04, 2011

    Flag

    I can see why this is Laura's favorite cookie. I made honey hearts (my only non-Christmas cookie cutter) exactly as directed, and I absolutely loved them. I gave them to several family members, and everyone went crazy over them. Making another batch right away!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 24, 2011

    Flag

    We had no Fleur de Lys cookie cutters, so my brother and I just cut them into triangles. The recipe doesn't explicitly say that you should chill the dough, but the long prep time might hint at that, and it should definitely help with the cutting.

    I found these cookies to be a bit too sweet, but the honey and cinnamon go really well together. I think using salted butter would help in cutting through the sweetness. Also, because the cookies were supposed to be cooked until crispy, it actually tasted just the tiniest bit burnt; if you like it that crunchy, consider lowering the heat (or even turning off the heat and leaving the cookie in the oven for a longer period of time.

    Will definitely make this again, but tweaking the recipe would make it better, at least for my taste buds.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Carnival Eats

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.