Olive Oil and Red Grape Cake

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 13

Showing 1-10 of 13

Sort by:

Newest
  • on October 21, 2014

    Flag

    Yum! Just made this cake. Wanted to find a way to use grapes that were left over after a couple of days....Tastes a little like cheesecake!! Delightful surprise! I would serve this to company.

    Didn't have a spring foam pan so used a 9" round cake pan spayed with oil and lined with parchment paper. Used a mixture of red and green grapes.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 23, 2013

    Flag

    When I first read the recipe I thought it a bit odd to bake a cake using 3/4 cup of olive oil. I had only ever used olive oil in savory dishes. I baked it anyway out of curiosity. Man alive!!! This cake is absolute cake heaven. The grapes pop in your mouth, it's not overly sweet, and moist as moist can be! I brought one to work and got a similar reaction from my associates. Olive oil in a cake???? After they ate their pieces I was asked for the recipe. lol I love Laura Calder and miss seeing her on TV.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 12, 2013

    Flag

    This cake is amazing!!!! Very moist and beautiful! I will make again! Can't say enough about this cake, yummy!!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 18, 2013

    Flag

    Wonderful Cake! Add blueberries instead of grapes!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 31, 2013

    Flag

    Man, this was bad. I was actually compelled to sign up for this website just to review this recipe. It was gross. Tasted just like egg yolk. The cake was heavy and greasy. The grapes were hot and kind of soggy. Just not a good combo at all. Don't waste the ingredients. I can't believe it got such great reviews!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 26, 2013

    Flag

    This cake is great! Will make this time again. :

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 31, 2013

    Flag

    This cake is amazing every time. Recently, I've started omitting the grapes if I don't have them on hand, in reality they don't add much flavor to the cake, (but make it pretty :

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 17, 2013

    Flag

    Everyone loved this cake. Turned out just perfect, grapes and all. It is one of my favorites.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 06, 2013

    Flag

    LOVED it. I would call it a Citrus Cake more than a Grape cake. Light and Moist. Not too tarte nor sweet. The grapes tasted like light weight raisins. Perfect size cake. Just Delicious!!
    I will make this often and serve to company. I rated 5 stars because of taste and moisture. However, even though I followed directions with adding 1/2 the grapes in later, all the grapes ended up on the bottom. But that didn't bother me. Next time, I'll wait a few more minutes to add. And if they stay on the top layer like the picture and on TV I'll call it a grape cake. If they sink, I'll call it a citrus cake. No matter, everyone will love it.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 30, 2012

    Flag

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this cake!!!! I had a bunch of red grapes just sitting around and remembered seeing this recipe on Laura's show. Just made it this afternoon, and it's one of the best cakes I have EVER tasted. Moist, delicious, and not too sweet. Very European. Just perfect!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.