COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 21

Showing 11-20 of 21

Sort by:

Newest
  • on February 26, 2013

    Flag

    Used the rosemary (couldn't find juniper berries and a local white wine. The meal was wonderful. Pretty easy for a novice like me to put together. I also used honey smoked bacon...really added to the dish. And the family, including my 12-yr-old grandson, loved it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 17, 2013

    Flag

    I am not sure what I was expecting, but I loved this. My chops were not as thick as I wanted and I was not able to put as much garlic inside. I also substituted a few dashes of gin for the juniper berries. I have only been cooking a few years and I am just floored when something comes out this good. This will be one of my "Go To's"

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 05, 2013

    Flag

    Very easy and yes, fat does matter. I use pork shoulder steaks. I also use twice the onions Laura does. I think rosemary is a great substitute for the juniper berries.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 03, 2012

    Flag

    I found it not so good. If the onions and bacon were browned first, it would have been tastier, and there is no reason to wait to add stock half way through. After 1.5 hours of cooking above the liquid, the chops were dry.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 29, 2012

    Flag

    thanks laura, i recorded this episode and had chops serching for a recipe, then i watched my recorded episode WONDERFUL TENDER AND TASTY THANKS LAURA I LOVE YOUR SHOW

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 27, 2012

    Flag

    I have made this dish several times. And when it's just the 2 of us I half the recipe which means less potatoes so I end up with the pork chops on top of the potatoes. This workes for me, all the potatoes are in the broth. So good.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 18, 2012

    Flag

    I tried this very simple dish after watching the show. Love how easy it is to throw together and it came out beautifully. I used bone on chops I had in the freezer, but they weren't fatty enough, I think. Didn't have juniper berries, so I used terragon and it was wonderful. Next time around I will get fattier chops. This recipe is so easy and relatively inexpensive. Thanks Laura!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 07, 2012

    Flag

    Delicious. Very easy to make. Important to use fattynchops with bone in. Gives the pork very good flavor. Like the juniper berries. They give it a slightly piney flavor. I served this to guests, and they went wild for it. French country cooking at its best.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 07, 2012

    Flag

    Simple and delicious. What more can I say? Bought some extra thick chops (almost 2", came out perfect. I love your recipes and techniques. Hmmmm, maybe I should move to France. Thanks, Laura.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 06, 2012

    Flag

    I have tried quite a few recipes prepared by Laura Calder and this one is another winner. The pork chops are tender and moist and the potatoes have incredible flavor. A great meal for family dinners or for guests.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Simply Laura

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.