COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 9

Showing 1-9 of 9

Sort by:

Newest
  • on October 11, 2014

    Flag

    I have all of Laura's episodes recorded and I like her approach to food. I have made the classic dish, at La Varenne no less, and it is a challenge to reproduce consistently. I love her suggestions for this dish. I save the heavy cream and use it twice then throw it into a sauce. I place layers of potatoes into my baking dish, season each layer, and I add sliced shallots and thyme. The recipe is great. Please get more of Laura on the cooking channel, she manages to make French food un-intimidating!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 23, 2013

    Flag

    Sorry, but I give it a two. Nice idea, but not so good on taste. A total waste of some good cream which could have been used in the dish to give it more flavor. I used less of the ingredents than suggested, way less than a handful, and thought it was over seasoned. I do like the idea of a pie and would not repeat this dish unless I changed the seasonings to something more to my liking. My wife ate two bites and quit, I ate my portion, but know that it can be better than this.....

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 01, 2013

    Flag

    After looking over many different Potatoes Anna recipes, I ended up making this one as a side for Easter brunch. Could not have been happier. It was delicious, a beautiful presentation, easy to make and economical. I used a springform pan and followed directions as is. My potatoes were done in approx. 1 hour, 10 minutes. I let cool for 1 hour, unmolded, then served.

    We are potato-lovers, and this is officially a staple dish in our house. I wish I could upload photos to show how nicely this came out.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 26, 2012

    Flag

    Great rx!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 11, 2012

    Flag

    The best potato dish ever, and I have made quite a few. My husband and I were making yummy sounds with each bite. Thank you so much Laura. I have at times added gruyere cheese grated over the layers for an added kick. So good.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 17, 2012

    Flag

    Amazing! This was a nice change from my usual gratin recipe. I used the remaining cream mixture to create a sauce for chicken thighs and served them together. Yum!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 05, 2012

    Flag

    Delicious and easy to make! Will make again and again!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 17, 2012

    Flag

    I made this at Christmas as a side. It was very good. Laura's TV show is very informative, and I wish she would do another series. I have tried many of her recipes and with great success.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 05, 2012

    Flag

    This recipe was fantastic! I only made half the amount and baked it at 350 for 1 hr 15 min and it was superb!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.