COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 32

Showing 21-30 of 32

Sort by:

Newest
  • on March 08, 2012

    Flag

    I was soooo impressed with myself! Felt very professional and artistic at the same time! A wonderful recipe. Thank you so much, Laura

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 06, 2012

    Flag

    I loved !!!!!!! this!!!!!! Have made it 4 times already. It is now my go-to dish for company..so impressive! Love Laura

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 27, 2012

    Flag

    Great dish, easy to make, this would be a real show stopper if you were having a few people over and wanted to make something tasty yet elegant.

    The only problem I had was getting the salmon to cook through; after 25 minutes at 450 degrees F. After cutting the pastry I gently pushed it back together, covered it with foil, reduced the heat to 350 and cooked it for another 10 minutes.

    Next time I will pan sear the fish for a minute or two on each side - let it cool and then put it on the pastry and start from there.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 16, 2012

    Flag

    Quick, easy, elegant, delicious. The 1st time I made this recipe I mistakenly purchased Phylo dough instead of Puff Pastry...the result was wonderful...crunchy & flaky on the outside, moist, flavorful and decadent on the inside. Second trip I used the Puff Pastry (and Steelhead Trout - and it's hard to say which the family enjoyed the most. Thanks, Laura; I have all your books and am a big fan!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 15, 2012

    Flag

    Lovely recipe! After watching this episode earlier this week, I made the Salmon tonight. Following the advise of the other reviewers, I set the oven at 425 & cooked for 20 minutes. Thereafter, I reduced the heat to 375, covered it with foil and continued to cooked it for an additional 10 minutes. To reduce the fat, I substituted fromage blanc for the creme fraiche. When you serve this dish not only does it look impressive, the salmon is very, very moist with a nice delicate flavor. My husband loved it. This is an attractive and yummy dish.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 20, 2012

    Flag

    Great recipe! When I make it looked just like Laura's. It was easy to do and tasted delicious. It so delicious my husband gave it the "ok" to make for his Mom.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 13, 2012

    Flag

    Wow! That was delicious! I have been wanting to make this recipe since I started watching the show as it appears in the intro but they had not showed it until recently. I will certainly make it again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 11, 2012

    Flag

    Great recipe. As a previous reviewer stated, put the paste on then the asparagus stalks, as she did in the show. Choose a filet that is not too thick. Mine was about an inch + at the big end and tapered nicely. I did not cut off the thin end. I baked it for 25 minutes and covered the pastry with foil for the last 5-7 minutes to keep it from over browning. Smashing success at the table! Visually appealing as well as tasty!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 02, 2012

    Flag

    Really lovely presentation. And easy to put together; however, watch it closely it the oven!!!! Depending on the the thickness of salmon you choose it may not be done before the pastry is finished. Be ready to turn that oven down. That's the only reason this was a success! Bon chance!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 30, 2011

    Flag

    Easy recipe with a great presentation for Christmas Eve. HOWEVER - there are a couple of discrepancies between the recipe and the show -- and they are key:
    1Where it says puree the asparagus (in 2nd paragraph they actually mean puree the asparagus tips (not the spears.
    2In the same paragraph they tell you to lay the asparagus spears on the salmon and then top with the creme fraiche. In the show she did it the other way round (which makes more sense to me. She placed the creme fraiche on top of the salmon and then laid the asparagus spears on top of it.
    3I advise trimming the asparagus spears to uniform length (or as close as you can get them -- it just makes the stacking easier.
    4 Finally, regarding the salmon itself, in the show she advised trimming any thin parts from the fillet -- so it cooks evenly. This is crucial to ensuring a beautifully cooked fillet. Bon appetit!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.