COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 48

Showing 21-30 of 48

Sort by:

Newest
  • on December 26, 2012

    Flag

    Laura Calder has captured the essence of French cuisine technique, taste and philosophy. From what I remember this is one her own family recipes but she is right in stating that it is very close to the European breads. Effectively, my husband and daughter being French and thus harsh "bread critics" they ate this up as soon as cooled!If your measurements are exact, there will be no need to add anything, The only thing I had to tweek were the last 30 min of "browning time" This will depend on how thick you want your crust and your oven, rack position...

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 06, 2012

    Flag

    I had the same problem as a few other cooks. The water amount didn't seem to work right I had to add another cup as well. (not sure if it was because I used warm water, if it works next time I make it I will try cold water Hope it turns out right, it's now sitting in a warm area for tomorrow when I will bake it. Will let you know if it turns out. I sure hope so.

    I made two Boule today they came out great ... I have to admit I did not think they would taste good but they are fantastic in-fact I'm giving one to a friend. I hope they like it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 26, 2012

    Flag

    Not being a baker, I had my doubts. Wow, was it great! Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out just like the picture. My husband was amazed. Making again to go with a dinner of steamed mussels. Will be fantastic!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 25, 2012

    Flag

    Can't believe there weren't more comments about the amount of water. The 1 1/2 c. provided a very normal batter for me, not the mushy one from the tv show. Still, the end result was very good...just don't understand what was going on with the texture of the dough.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 23, 2012

    Flag

    I beleive the recipe has either the wrong amount of flour or water. I made it as it reads and the initial combine does not turn out as it was on TV; kind of a badder but thicker, but stiff and broken. I hadded an extra cup of water to reach that consistency.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 21, 2012

    Flag

    This is an amazing bread recipe! I am very excited about it! It mimics the wonderful bread from the north of Spain. The crust is wood-oven-baked-crispy, and the inside is moist. It turns out great even when I don't have time to let it rise for 12 hours.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 19, 2012

    Flag

    Excellent and easy recipe! Merci beaucoup Mlle Calder :

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 11, 2012

    Flag

    Very simple recipe. Just follow Laura's instructions and you will be pleased. We sprinkled the corn meal (as opposed to addt'l. flour onto the boule before letting rise and it turned out well.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 15, 2012

    Flag

    Crunchy & Tasty. Also, very addictive. Looking forward to a bowl of soup accompanied with this bread.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 01, 2012

    Flag

    Great bread! I mixed whole wheat flour with all purpose and still delicious.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.