Lighter Brownies

Recipe courtesy Drop 5 Lbs with Good Housekeeping
Show: Drop 5 Lbs with Good Housekeeping Episode: Avoid the Party Pounds

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

3

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 14

Showing 1-10 of 14

Sort by:

Newest
  • on September 07, 2014

    Flag

    As someone who loves coffee-enhanced sweets, desserts that aren't too saccharine, and brownies especially, it says much that I find this recipe to produce utterly bitter bricks of anti-desserts. I've made them twice, thinking a little tinkering would improve them but that is not to be. There may exist a tasty and healthy brownie recipe but this is surely not one of them.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 08, 2014

    Flag

    The brownies were so disappointing. They were thinner than the photo. They had a bitter aftertaste which I attributed to too much coffee (I love coffee and mocha and chocolate cakes with coffee) One reviewer said there must be a typo for the salt - I agree. I took a double take but added it anyway.

    The photo looks delicious, but these brownies give "healthy" foods a bad reputation which is not going to help people. I threw away these brownies and looked up Alton Brown's recipe - delicious!!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 02, 2013

    Flag

    I like Chocolate pudding but prefer vanilia with chocolate icecream!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 20, 2013

    Flag

    Good low-cal option. Cut baking time so brownies would be more chewy. Amy Meredith Hutson

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 10, 2012

    Flag

    I was also excited to make these brownies after seeing the episode. They looked amazing. However they were definitely dry and the 1 1/4 tsp measurement for salt absolutely must be a typo - very salty.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 05, 2012

    Flag

    I should of read the reviews ......less salt & sugar. They were very nice and yummy chocolate . Mine did not rise or look like the pic. I will make again and make adjustments !

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 07, 2012

    Flag

    The first time I made this, I followed the recepie to the t an.d the brownies came out pretty dense. They were still good with a scoop of coconut milk ice cream, but on their own they weren't sweet enough for my taste and a bit salty.

    This time I decided to alter it to make the brownies more moist and reduce the amount of regular sugar. I also followed the suggestions of other reviews to cut the salt to 1/4 of a teaspoon.

    Added 1/2 cup of no suger added apple sauce, halfed the cup of regular sugar and replaced it with 1/2 of Xylitol sugar (available at Whole Foods in the baking isle. I cut the batch into 16 servings, like suggested. These changes in ingredients brought the calories down to 77/serving, 2.6g fat, and only 2g of sugar. They came out perfectly moist nd delicious!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 02, 2012

    Flag

    Very good but use 1/4 tsp of salt. I think the 1 1/4 tsp of salt was a typo. It's easy to make. You don't taste the instant coffee in it. It's an affordable and healthier version of those 100 calorie brownie packs.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 19, 2012

    Flag

    Very good! However you do need to switch the amounts of salt and baking powder, I think it is a typo. I made the recipe with splenda instead of sugar, cake flour instead of regular, and added 2 tbls splenda brown sugar; they were great! Also, it is very important to mix dry and wet ingredients in different bowls and then combine. If you still think they are a little dry try adding 1/4 cup of applesause.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 19, 2012

    Flag

    I was really excited to make these after I saw the episode. Honestly, they are pretty dry. Also, I found the other reviewer's comment regarding the salt very helpful. I used just 1/4 tsp NOT 1 tsp plus 1/4 tsp - I think that is an error in the recipe. The flavor of the coffee and the little bit of salt is nice, but the texture is dry. I don't know enough about baking to know how to fix it. Maybe real eggs or veg oil instead of spread?

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.