Lighter Brownies

Recipe courtesy Drop 5 Lbs with Good Housekeeping
Show: Drop 5 Lbs with Good Housekeeping Episode: Avoid the Party Pounds

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 12

Showing 1-10 of 12

Sort by:

Newest
  • on December 02, 2013

    Flag

    I like Chocolate pudding but prefer vanilia with chocolate icecream!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 20, 2013

    Flag

    Good low-cal option. Cut baking time so brownies would be more chewy. Amy Meredith Hutson

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 10, 2012

    Flag

    I was also excited to make these brownies after seeing the episode. They looked amazing. However they were definitely dry and the 1 1/4 tsp measurement for salt absolutely must be a typo - very salty.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 05, 2012

    Flag

    I should of read the reviews ......less salt & sugar. They were very nice and yummy chocolate . Mine did not rise or look like the pic. I will make again and make adjustments !

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 07, 2012

    Flag

    The first time I made this, I followed the recepie to the t an.d the brownies came out pretty dense. They were still good with a scoop of coconut milk ice cream, but on their own they weren't sweet enough for my taste and a bit salty.

    This time I decided to alter it to make the brownies more moist and reduce the amount of regular sugar. I also followed the suggestions of other reviews to cut the salt to 1/4 of a teaspoon.

    Added 1/2 cup of no suger added apple sauce, halfed the cup of regular sugar and replaced it with 1/2 of Xylitol sugar (available at Whole Foods in the baking isle. I cut the batch into 16 servings, like suggested. These changes in ingredients brought the calories down to 77/serving, 2.6g fat, and only 2g of sugar. They came out perfectly moist nd delicious!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 02, 2012

    Flag

    Very good but use 1/4 tsp of salt. I think the 1 1/4 tsp of salt was a typo. It's easy to make. You don't taste the instant coffee in it. It's an affordable and healthier version of those 100 calorie brownie packs.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 19, 2012

    Flag

    Very good! However you do need to switch the amounts of salt and baking powder, I think it is a typo. I made the recipe with splenda instead of sugar, cake flour instead of regular, and added 2 tbls splenda brown sugar; they were great! Also, it is very important to mix dry and wet ingredients in different bowls and then combine. If you still think they are a little dry try adding 1/4 cup of applesause.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 19, 2012

    Flag

    I was really excited to make these after I saw the episode. Honestly, they are pretty dry. Also, I found the other reviewer's comment regarding the salt very helpful. I used just 1/4 tsp NOT 1 tsp plus 1/4 tsp - I think that is an error in the recipe. The flavor of the coffee and the little bit of salt is nice, but the texture is dry. I don't know enough about baking to know how to fix it. Maybe real eggs or veg oil instead of spread?

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 12, 2012

    Flag

    OK - so my husband is retired and home a lot! We saw this recipe on TV and the next day he made these brownies to surprise me (I hate surprises! We tried them after dinner but found them incredibly salty. We threw that batch out and he re-made them two days later with only 1/4 tsp of the salt. MUCH better! Since we are counting calories, we appreciate the calorie count showing up on the recipes.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 11, 2012

    Flag

    Fantastic brownies. Very tastey. I froze them individually so we can have a guilt free snack when the urge strikes. Will certainly make again. Thanks!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.