Lorie's Ultimate Coconut Cream Pie

Recipe courtesy Lorie Roach for 2011 Cooking Channel, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Show: The Perfect 3 Episode: Pies

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 9

Showing 1-9 of 9

Sort by:

Newest
  • on October 13, 2014

    Flag

    I made this for my husband's 50th birthday party. He loves coconut cream pie! I substituted vanilla for the coconut extract, but other than that followed the recipe as written. My husband didn't get to taste the pie because it disappeared before he could get any! I had lots of compliments and plan to make this again! And I read something about being able to taste the vinegar in the crust, so I made a small crust separately with the trimmed crust just to check--I didn't taste the vinegar at all. And one friend said, "Loved the pie, especially the crust!" Needless to say, I was happy:) I highly recommend this recipe!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 01, 2014

    Flag

    I am obsessed with Coconut Cream Pie. In fact, I am always trying new recipes for the perfect pie. Lorie's Ultimate Coconut Cream Pie is near perfect! I made it yesterday, EXACTLY as written, for a dinner party and got rave reviews from everyone! While I LOVED the pie, I would make a small change the next time I make it: omit the sugar. Why? Even though there's only 1/2 cup sugar in the recipe, the can of cream of coconut is extremely sweet. European desserts are very rich, like this one, but never sweet-sweet, like they are in America. Less sugar will NOT compromise this delicious recipe! I'll try it and post my review again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 30, 2013

    Flag

    Delicious filling, totally amazing, did not like crust. Too fragile and I could taste the vinegar. Used Martha Stewarts pie crust recipe and all fit perfectly.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 18, 2013

    Flag

    I made this for my husband, and he says that it is amazing! Never had a coconut cream pie that was so delicious! Thank you Lorie!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 23, 2012

    Flag

    This coconut cream pie recipe was awesome!! I am not a chef by any means and would agree that this is an intermediate level pie but don't let that scare you away. The pie set up beautifully and was full of yummy coconut flavor. Everything you would expect in a coconut cream pie. I could't find the "can of cream of coconut" so I found a "genuine cream of coconut" in the mixed drink section of the store by the strawberry daiquiri mixes and stuff like that. We will definitely make this recipe again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 17, 2012

    Flag

    Totally awesome I made it for my husband for fathers day as coconut cream pie is one of his favorites. He couldn’t stop saying how good it was - even commented on the crust. Way to go Lorie. Thank you for helping me make this day a whole lot more special for the man in my life.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 30, 2011

    Flag

    This was really, really good and I honestly don't even like coconut that much. Definitely a crowd-pleaser for a party.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 11, 2011

    Flag

    great pie! I will share this with everyone this is my absolute favorite!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 10, 2011

    Flag

    I just made a list for the store to get the ingredients to make this! I am donating a pie to my library's Pie Fest fundraiser tomorrow and this is the one! Thanks for the fantastic recipe, Lorie!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.