"I Can't Believe You Made That" Cake

Lorraine Pascale
Recipe courtesy Lorraine Pascale
Show: Simply Baking Episode: So Easy

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 8

Showing 1-8 of 8

Sort by:

Newest
  • on July 30, 2012

    Flag

    Delicious and stunning. My guests were amazed

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 25, 2012

    Flag

    Made this cake for my little girl's birthday and I wish I had not! It was DRY ( and I love drier cakes and we threw it out. I am not new at baking so I know technique was not my issues. This recipe is bad! Wished I had used my go to Ina Garten's cake recipe.
    I cannot believe I made that and wasted all that time and money on it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 05, 2012

    Flag

    Really easy to make but far too sweet. I made a few changes the second attempt and they seemed to work well:
    Instead of using butter cream, try using cream cheese mixed with icing sugar to taste (add 1 tbsp at a time and tasteand cocoa if chocolate required. I also tried using flavoured thick cream (I actually used baileys cream inside and chocolate cream as above to cover - really worked well. I used wafers not cigarillos, they're good but go soggy by 2nd day - if any is left. Still good to eat though.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 29, 2011

    Flag

    Batter is thick like a brownie but very dry once cooked. I'll try it again but either lower the heat or undercook it. Presentation is wonderful but I had a very hard time finding the rolled chocolate sticks so next time I'll do the rolled sugar wafer cookies.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 21, 2011

    Flag

    Cake was beautiful, but batter was very dense and cake was dry. I like the decorating idea and may use it again on a different cake recipe. Frosting was yummy.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 22, 2011

    Flag

    beautiful and delicious.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 09, 2011

    Flag

    This cake was easy to make, beautiful to look at and even more delicoius to eat....Thank you Lorraine for sharing your recipe with us.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 02, 2011

    Flag

    Excellent!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.