Tomato and Basil Tarte Tatin

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 9

Showing 1-9 of 9

Sort by:

Newest
  • on March 05, 2014

    Flag

    Simple and delicious!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 20, 2013

    Flag

    I thought that was delicious. I used grape tomatoes, instead of cherry. I sprinkled in fresh oregano, instead of basil. I also topped it with some pieces of fresh mozarella and a sprinkle of balsamic vinegar. Wonderful!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 23, 2012

    Flag

    Easy, quick and impressive!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 25, 2012

    Flag

    I can't believe I made this. I used the puff pastry recipe and it turned out perfect. It really wasn't hard. It just took some time with the resting between folding. As for theTomatoes, I used cherry and grape tomatoes. I followed the recipe exactly. There was no juice run off on mine. I agree with the comment below about finishing off the baking with a little more time at a lower temp, as the pastry wasn't completely cooked around the tomatoes. This definitely has a wow factor in appearance and taste!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 10, 2012

    Flag

    Since you eat first with your eyes, I knew immediately that I would make this tart. I used grape tomatoes and made this just for myself. I added one slice onion cut in fourths to the tomatoes and ended up putting it in a pot pie for one pan. After I plated it, I lightly drizzled it with balsmic vinegar. I ate it hot and it was terrific! I'll definitely make this a regular on my menu.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 04, 2012

    Flag

    i used heirloom cherry tomatoes, the different sizes and colors really made this look unique. i highly recommend trying to use them. the honey brought out a very mild sweetness in the tomatoes. i used olive oil instead of veg oil. i shredded some proscuitto also then baked it. it browned up in 40 minutes for me and no liquid squeeked out. i took a pic but can't see where i can upload it.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 07, 2012

    Flag

    I couldn't wait to try this recipe. The only change I made was substituting the cherry tomatoes for larger home grown tomatoes, which meant I had to slice them. Perhaps it was because of the extra liquid from breaching the skin of the tomatoes but it turned out incredibly soggy. So soggy indeed that I found it completely inedible. My family tried it though and liked the flavor but the texture was just gross.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 08, 2011

    Flag

    I was really impressed with this recipe when I saw it on TV and I finally made it last night. Since I wanted to make it a little more savory (to accommodate my husband's taste buds, I added some red onions to the tomatoes, as well as some red chili flakes, and some Herbs de Provence. I also added some grated Jarlsberg cheese just before I topped it off with the pastry. We did not wait for it to cool and it was truly delicious! It was like a fancy pizza but much tastier. I did have a little of it the next day when it was cold and it was just perfect! I am looking forward to making the cookies and cream brownies next!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 07, 2011

    Flag

    This is a very simple recipe that produces impressive results.
    I used a tarte tatin skillet and I used heirloom cherry tomatoes in purple, pink, yellow, green and red.

    For starters, I used both sheets of puff pastry (mine came with 2 sheets in the box. I put the oil in the pan followed by the tomatoes. As directed, I put some of the bread crumbs over the tomatoes. I ended up using about 1 tbsp of crumbs. I seasoned my tomatoes with herbs de provence and fresh ground szechuan pepper for extra flavour. I found that the tarte browned perfectly in 30 minutes at 400F but the pastry was still raw around the tomatoes. For best results, I would recommend cooking as directed for 30m at 400F, removing the tarte tatin and tipping out the excess liquid, then returning to the oven to cook at 350F for about 25 minutes.

    My family was impressed and the tarte tatin was devoured!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.