Pasta with Winter Squash and Tomatoes

Recipe courtesy Mark Bittman

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 8

Showing 1-8 of 8

Sort by:

Newest
  • on November 07, 2014

    Flag

    I really love this dish! I added much more garlic ( like triple) since I love it and it came out great!

    Make SURE you wear gloves when dealing with the squash!! the starch leaves behind a film that takes hours to go away.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 23, 2014

    Flag

    I just made with quick meal for my hubby and he loved it. The recipe was very simple, I did not have an shallots so I sauted a regular onion with the garlic. I also added additional garlick powder, basil, and rosemary to the tomatoe/squash. This is a keeper.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 03, 2014

    Flag

    Delicious! Love this recipe. I could eat pasta everyday of my life but get tired of traditional pasta sauce. Always looking for something different and this fit the bill. Made as instructed only slight changes were I added about a 1/2 cup of dry white wine to the squash tenderizing process and a little mascarpone cheese at the end off the heat for some added creaminess. Very easy and quick recipe to make. One side note: cut squash in small cubes and had to mash with a masher once tender to get the right consistency but no big deal.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 28, 2013

    Flag

    This was so good! It's a great way to use up squash in a very different way. I followed the recipe exact except I added a chile pepper cuz I like a bite to it : I used cubed squash and after about 10 min in the pan is was soft enough to mash it in with the tomato mixture. Loved the thickness of the sauce and it looks yummy too!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 08, 2012

    Flag

    Very good dish but I did it without garlic. My kids do not like it. Without it, too delicious.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 20, 2012

    Flag

    It's good, but I'd tweak it next time. Instead of fresh tomatoes, I'd used a can of stewed tomatoes and I would definitely shred (not cube the squash so that it feels more like a sauce.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 12, 2012

    Flag

    On a 1-10 scale my kids rated this a 9. Nice change from the usual pasta dish. It was nice to sneak some veggies in there. A time saver in prep is to buy the butternut squash already peeled & cut up. I still diced it down to bite-size pieces. I used two cans of diced tomatoes (14.5 oz. each. It was more chunky than saucey. Had to add some water in the end. Very good overall.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 05, 2011

    Flag

    Unexpectedly delicious combination of flavors. I added mascarpone to make the sauce a bit creamy.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.