Broiled Porterhouse with Roasted Garlic and Lemon

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 13

Showing 1-10 of 13

Sort by:

Newest
  • on July 08, 2014

    Flag

    A-MAZ-ING!! I have to say though, we didn't have parsley so we use chives instead. It was still super yummy and steaks 5 mins each side gave me a perfect medium with warm pink center!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 23, 2013

    Flag

    The schmear, the schmear! Loved the citrus flavor and the very subtle, but very nice flavor it adds to the meat. I didn't have parsley, so used fresh chives and thyme out of the garden. This added so much to the steak, I'll do it all the time. Loved it. I'm actually starting to feel more like an intuitive cook!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 11, 2012

    Flag

    Best steak I've ever had. I've eaten at many expensive steak houses (ruths chris and others on par with it and it beats the hell out of them. I adjusted the recipe and used a 2 pound choice porterhouse and cooked it 6 mintues a side since I like my steak medium. You won't be disappointed.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 04, 2012

    Flag

    We have made this recipe three times, but with a bone-in cowboy ribeye. The first time we followed the recipe and broiled it and it was great. The second time we just grilled the steak and it was great. Last night I used the cast iron skillet and cooked the steak on the grill because I could get the temp up to 600 degrees. This is the way I will do it from now on. Great crust, great flavor, lots of juicy beef and the schmear takes it to the level of the gods. Thank you Michael for a great new addition to our dinner party repertoire.
    I'd like to add that we actually drank a 'Flora Springs 2008 Napa Valley chardonnay with this. The combination of the beef, lemon, garlic and chardonnay was outstanding. I will always think twice before I automatically drink a big red with a big steak.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 13, 2012

    Flag

    The schmear really brightens the steak and makes for a perfect summer dinner. Chef Symon was right on -- the grilled peach salad is an outstanding addition to this steak. The only complaint I'd have is that it is a little watery and needs a slight adjustment to make it more creamy.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 29, 2012

    Flag

    I made the schmear for grilled burgers and it was fantastic. I didn't have fresh oregano so I just used more fresh parsley. Can't wait to try it on a steak!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 19, 2012

    Flag

    The fresh herbs and lemon is a great and appetizing alternative to the more common cream-based steak sauces that make the heavy meat even heavier. I tried the broiling method to cook the steak for the first time and loved the way it cooks the thick cut meat so evenly without overcooking the inside. The combination reminds me of steak Florentine I had in Florence, Italy. This is a must-try recipe!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 12, 2012

    Flag

    My boyfriend and I made this recipe twice so far and it was beyond good! Freaking fantastic! The first time we made it with a New York Strip steak because we couldn't get a porterhouse. We made the disk for friends coming over for dinner. The steak was so juicy...bacon fat in the cast iron was so smart! Friends loved it. The second time we did find a porterhouse but had no bacon fat and no cast iron pan. We did it with oil instead and on a baking sheet. Still came out so well. Both of us agreed that the porterhouse is the better cut to do this recipe with and the smear is to die for. We also followed other readers' advice and cut the lemon juice by half each time. Definitely a go-to steak recipe! Thanks, Chef!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 22, 2012

    Flag

    Excellent! Absolutely perfectly balanced! This was awesome with the peach salad!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 22, 2012

    Flag

    Wow! I loved this. My husband not so much, he however is a filet guy and it may have been a bit overpowering on that cut of meat. One thing I noticed was that Michael only used half the lemon's juice and this recipe calls for the juice of the whole lemon. I think though, half is the right amount which is what I used following the show. I am going to use the left over to top some fish I am baking for my lunch tomorrow. Actually there are several vegetables I think this would dress up as well. Green beans??? I don't think Michael Symon has ever put out anything that I would not cook and enjoy.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.