Italian Braised Beef with Root Vegetables

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 20

Showing 1-10 of 20

Sort by:

Newest
  • on November 12, 2013

    Flag

    Outstanding recipe. I've made this for friends/family three times now, and everyone absolutely loves it! The only substitution I made to the recipe was chicken stock instead of water for the braising liquid. I also used more Sunday Sauce than the recipe called for because I wanted it to be a bit more tomato-y. This is a great alternative to a standard pot roast!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 12, 2013

    Flag

    Wonderful! I made the Yia Yia Sauce in a CrockPot the night before cooking it on low overnight, then seared the chuck roast and sauteed the veggies in the morning and put the rest of the ingredients called for in another CrockPot, and cooked it on low for about 9 hours. It was so good! I didn't have beef bones for the sauce, so I used beef stock, and substituted 1/2 cup beef stock for 1/2 cup of the water when cooking the beef. I also had to use dried oregano, so only used 1 teaspoon. I did end up ultimately using all of the Yia Yia Sauce, but used my immersion blender on the sauce that remained after adding what was called for in the recipe to the beef. I will use penne instead of rigatoni next time because it was a bit challenging to eat without making a mess.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 23, 2013

    Flag

    This really was fantastic. I would make the sauce the day before next time and cook the meat even longer the next day. I like the meat to be fall apart tender and it wasn't even after 4 hours of cooking. I might even think to try this dish with beef short ribs next time. I served this over fresh herb and roasted garlic orzo. Very good

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 20, 2013

    Flag

    I found this dish to have great depth of flavor. Allow plenty of time to prepare this dish so that the flavors can develope. I added two tablespoons of butter, and a handful of fresh chopped herbs(parsley and chive and freshly grated parmesan to the penne before topping with the braised beef. It got rave reviews. I can't wait to make it again. I may put the cooked vegetables through a foodmill and add them to the sauce next time.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 12, 2013

    Flag

    Excellent!!! I used a 4 1/2 pound roast, extra veggies, and 2 pounds of pasta for 8 hungry people. I also used the entire pot of the Yai Yai's Sunday sauce. Everyone had 2 large servings and was yumming every minute. All the weomen had me copy the recipe for them. I did use the bones and a packet of beef flavor broth. Thanks Michael, I am a big fan of your show. The Baklava was aso to die for!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 06, 2013

    Flag

    I cannot imagine calling this dish bland or sour or anything other than spectacular! I grew up going to many Italian Sunday suppers and I can tell you that this is a perfect example of a typical Italian meal on a Sunday! I love the way all the different favors marry together in this dish and I love it over pasta! It could easily be served with mashed potatoes or roasted potatoes and still be incredible. Delicious all the way around!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 30, 2012

    Flag

    Perfect dinner party recipe! Put it in the oven and forget it for 3 hours. Makes a fabulous presentation and the taste is awesome! Thanks Michael and Angel for sharing this incredible recipe.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 29, 2012

    Flag

    I have to say this recipe looks and sounds terrific, but I made the recipe and changed it according to what I had in my pantry. I used parsnips (3, as well as carrots (2,celery (2instead of the celery root. Added (3 cloves of garlic, an onion, and dried thyme, 3 bay leaves , and used red wine, instead of white wine. I used a small beef brisket. I added 2 cups of my own red gravy left over from our Christmas dinner. I know, it is not Michael's Mother's recipe but, hers inspired mine. Cooked it the same way and time and served it with pasta. It was out of this world.Thank you, Angel and Michael

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 14, 2012

    Flag

    Well worth the 12 hours it takes to make. It is so good that I am making it again and I am taking it as the main dish for a holiday get together with friends.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 01, 2012

    Flag

    I followed this recipe exactly even made Yia Yia's Sunday Sauce. This did not have much flavor and it was way too sour. After my husband and I ate a bowl, instead of saving it I took the meat out and threw the sauce and rigatoni in the garbage. Wasn't terrible, I can see how people would like it but I grew up with my mom which was an incredible cook making home cooked meals every single night. So my standards are high. If it wasn't for it being so sour I could have ate it for leftovers. Had high hopes for this one because I saw the show and I love stews...but definitly would not make it again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.