Italian Braised Beef with Root Vegetables

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 20

Showing 11-20 of 20

Sort by:

Newest
  • on October 17, 2012

    Flag

    This was fantastic! Wish I had read the review that told me to brown the soup bones - had quite a lot of fat to skim. The flavor is spectacular! Shredded the meat and used leftovers for Italian beef sandwiches the next day. My son and grandson devoured half the pot!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 14, 2012

    Flag

    Having been raised in an Italian "Sunday gravy" family, I was into Ya-ya' gravy. Great base for EVERYTHING. I followed the Rigatoni and root veggies recipe to the letter. It works great!!. It must be done with the rigatoni, awesome. The celery root was a surprising ingredient. I will use it more often.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 14, 2012

    Flag

    This was absolutely delicious! However, there are discrepancies with how the recipe was made on TV and the written recipe. For example, on TV crushed tomatoes were used and the beef bones were browned, however the written recipe calls for whole tomatoes and does not call for the beef bones to be browned. I also used two pounds of beef stew meat instead of a roast and one 28 oz and one 14 oz cans of tomatoes rather than two 28 oz cans, and cooked only 16 oz of pasta It made plenty! I will make it again!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 14, 2012

    Flag

    This was really delish...it took a long time to make but well worth it! My family and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Very Tasty!! The only thing we did different is added a touch extra red pepper flakes.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 14, 2012

    Flag

    Best roast I've ever made! Celery root is excellent. What great flavor. Definitely salt and pepper heavy before. It made the difference I believe. Great dish.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 13, 2012

    Flag

    This is good and it makes a lot!! I used celery because grocery didn't have celery root. The thing I would do differently is not mix the rigatoni with the meat. Pasta on bottom of bowl/plate and meat on top. I'll definitely make this again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 10, 2012

    Flag

    I did not make this specific recipe, but I have made Yia's Yia's Sunday Sauce. Yes, it took all day to simmer, but all I think that needs to be said is my 16-yr. old son's comment when he ate the spaghetti that night -"mmmmmmm". B

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 09, 2012

    Flag

    This dish was just ok for everyone in our house who had some, it was good but we did not come away with any WOW factor considering the time and expense that went into it, will not make again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 08, 2012

    Flag

    OMG...this dish is AMAZING! (YiaYia's sauce alone is fabulous. You need to plan ahead for the cooking time, but the actual preparation of each part is easy and well worth the time. What a fabulous dish if you're looking for ultimate comfort food! I'm so glad I caught this episode of Symon's Suppers.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 14, 2012

    Flag

    This is an Italian tasty dinner! It was so simple to make ... the flavors are lovely and rich! I have braised many a roast but none were as good as this one! Thanks Mama Angel for sharing!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Carnival Eats

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.