Pot Roast with Carrots, Shallots, Mint and Lemon

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 10

Showing 1-10 of 10

Sort by:

Newest
  • on March 07, 2014

    Flag

    I am sorry, but if you are going to cook a Pot Roast, it should be cooked in a pot on a stove, not in a oven. It is a pot roast not a oven pot roast. My pot roast is one that everyone ask for seconds and thirds, and anyone that use to cook their pot roast in a oven and taste mine, now cooks theirs on the stove, not in the oven. One it is more moist, and two it allows all the other veggies to take on each others flavors better out of the stove. Anyway just my opinion and I have been cooking it this way for 40 years. The other is I do not use a blade roast, I prefer a boneless roast, also use a few different items in mine.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 19, 2012

    Flag

    One of the best Pot Roasts I have ever had

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 07, 2012

    Flag

    Update: The culinary team has removed stock from the ingredient list as it was too much. Please note when adding the beef back in along with the pancetta, the liquid should be about three-quarters of the way up the meat.

    Admin Customer Service

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 30, 2012

    Flag

    Have made this twice and loved it both times. I agree with all of the comments about there being too much liquid. I used a large dutch oven both times and didn't add the broth either time. The first time I didn't have apple cider, so I used apple juice and added in some brown sugar to give it a bit more depth. My family loved it both times. We live in the Northeast and this is a perfect meal for a cool fall night.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 19, 2012

    Flag

    Made this yesterday and will make a few adjustments next time around.

    Did make some modifications, based on what I had on hand & could find at the store. Substituted 1/2 lb bacon for the pancetta and stew meat for the roast. Also didn't have a large Dutch oven, so ended up cooking the entire thing stovetop in an 8 quart stockpot, keeping the heat at a low simmer the entire time. The only limitation was that I couldn't get a good sear on the meat due to the increased surface area of the stew meat, and the lackluster performance of my gas burners.

    Like other reviewers, I noted that the chicken/beef stock was NOT used in the TV preparation, and would have added too much liquid to the dish, so I omitted it. I did find that when the liquid (apple cider & Black Butte Porter reduced down, it was quite sweet. Next time, I would probably substitute 1 cup of chicken/beef stock for 1 C of the apple cider to cut the sweetness.

    I was impressed by the flavor profile of this recipe!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 09, 2012

    Flag

    Made this last night and it turned out GREAT! I used a smaller cut roast -- and I adjusted the recipe accordingly (probably by about HALF. I used bacon I had on hand instead of pancetta, Black Butte Porter, found out here on the West Coast and used a clear apple cider -- not like the one he used on the actual show, so not sure if there would've been a taste difference there, but the flavors still came through! So, liquids were the cider/beer/and one can of chicken broth -- but i'm sure beef broth woulda made more sense. Served on top of Chucks garlic mashed potatoes, and didn't have time to reduce the sauce for gravy so just made a quick ready-mix one. LOVELY.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 08, 2012

    Flag

    Did anyone look at the episode? No chicken broth used.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 04, 2012

    Flag

    We love Symon's Suppers, and when we saw him make this on the show we had to try it. Unfortunately, the recipe wasn't adjusted for home use, and the quantity of liquid called for is far too much. We never even added the chicken stock because the pot would have overflowed. Similar to the previous review, we ended up reducing the liquid stovetop after having the roast in the oven for 3 hours. By that point, the carrots and shallots were mush, so I strained it all through a fine sieve, and reduced 30 minutes more. Per a previous review, we steamed some fresh carrots, parsnips and new potatoes, and added everything back into the pot. The end result was delicious. There must be a better way to use Symon's delicious idea of using the cider and the porter without all the work!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 04, 2012

    Flag

    The pot roast turned out great--but I think there may be an error in the recipe directions. After two hours, the liquid had not reduced one iota with the lid on in the oven, so I took the pot out of the oven and finished it on the stove top, very low burner, lid off. The house smelled so good it was amazing. Also, the pancetta had proportionately far more meat than fat so I had to add vegetable oil to the pot before browning the blade roast. Next time I will use bacon, much less expensive and fattier. The vegetables were nearly all reduced to liquid, so if you want to serve carrots and shallots with the meal, I would steam some separately to serve with the roast, and top them with the rich broth.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 03, 2012

    Flag

    I could not find a porter so went with the IPA. The meat is very tender and literally fell apart with a fork. The carrots were delicious! I bet the left-overs will be phenomenal tomorrow as well! I will say that you have to be a fan of beer, and being from WI we definitely are!! We took the braising liquid, reduced it and used it as a gravy - very tasty! This is a do-again, especially on a nice and cool fall weekend!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.