Twice-Fried Chicken with Sriracha Honey

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 12

Showing 1-10 of 12

Sort by:

Newest
  • on March 21, 2014

    Flag

    I wrote the recipe down during the show and made it. It was delicious, and my family raved about it. The next time I made it, I didn't have any Old Bay or seafood seasoning in the house and simply used Essence. It turned out delicious, so I thought, now I have two recipes, good. Then I misplaced the recipe, so I'm so glad you posted it here again. I copied and pasted it to my notepad, then filed in my Recipes file I created under documents so I won't lose it again. Now this is on the menu for tonight, since I had something with chicken planned.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 27, 2013

    Flag

    Watched this episode and had to try for
    Sunday Fried Chicken - the seasoning blend for the chicken is delicious! My husband wants it on cheeseburgers next! A huge hit. Don't be afraid of this odd combo - it really works! Thanks for creating it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 02, 2013

    Flag

    I wanted to make this dish along with Micheal's southern greens for New Year's day,I used 2 thighs & 4 legs, that's what I had on hand. I used the brine which I added rosemary & tyhme recipe, from reviewer 1381rich cutting it in half since I only used 6 pieces and not a whole bird. Forgeting I had to work on YR Eve I put the chicken in the brine on Sunday, Dec 30th so it brined for 2 days, but no worries, the pieces were large enough that it didn't matter. It was very good, my husband said it was very moist and the flavor of the meat was great, he also said the crust almost had a burnt flavor, but it was still good. I loved the Sriacha sauce he said it was alittle to hot for him,however along with the greens from this episode, and Gina's blackeye peas it made a GREAT New Year's day meal, I will use this method in the future for frying chicken. Thanks Micheal! Happy & Healthy New Year to all!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 03, 2012

    Flag

    @kensethfan; a very simple brine recipe is 1 cup of salt (table or kosher is fine, 1/2 cup sugar, 16 cups water - heat that in a pan until it is all dissolved then cool and immerse the chicken. That's about enough for 2 whole chickens, so scale it down if you're making less. You can also through in herbs/spices at this point - I like to heavily season the chicken before dunking in the brine, this helps draw a lot of flavour in before rinsing afterwards, little chef-y tip : Soak 2-3 hours for skinless, 12-16 for skin on meat.

    Great recipe, the sriracha honey is genius.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 22, 2012

    Flag

    This recipe is going back to the original fried chicken from the south; especially using Lard for the cooking oil. This twice fried chicken is very, very moist and crispy. This is a wonderful recipe.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 07, 2012

    Flag

    Flavors in this recipe was great. Love the taste. The only thing I did was to grill instead of frying and it still turned out to be a crowd pleaser.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 04, 2012

    Flag

    Being from Maryland, the thought of Old Bay involved in anything got my interest. I made it -- followed the recipe on the temp, time and mostly spices....IT WAS THE BEST FRIED CHICKEN EVER!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 04, 2012

    Flag

    Excellent! Making this for Super Bowl Sunday. My only question is that I couldn't find out the brine for the chicken, & can't find anything on the internet.Would love to have a simple brine recipe.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 31, 2012

    Flag

    I followed the recipe exactly, because I'm not entirely comfortable with frying foods, and it turned out perfectly. Crispy on the outside, moist in the center. One thing Michael Symon mentions in the episode which is not noted in the written recipe, is before you fry the chicken, take it out of the fridge and bring it to room temperature.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 30, 2012

    Flag

    Loved it. A hit!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.