Morning Glory Muffins

Recipe courtesy Drop 5 Lbs with Good Housekeeping
Show: Drop 5 Lbs with Good Housekeeping Episode: Energize Your Life

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 12

Showing 1-10 of 12

Sort by:

Newest
  • on January 06, 2013

    Flag

    These are moist but will try maple syrup next time instead for a different flavor. Substituted applesauce for the oil in order to reduce fat content. Will definitely make again. Niceto have as a filling afternoon snack.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 06, 2013

    Flag

    This is really a great and easy recipe. I added some chopped dates as well as the prunes and cut the sugar a bit. For a nice treat when wanting something sweet I spread a bit of cream cheese on the muffin. Dessert!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 01, 2013

    Flag

    Very good. Not real sweet, and not as bread-like as most muffins. You can certainly tell they are healthy. But in a good way. I also omitted the oil. Be careful not to over bake; mine were completely done at the 23 minute point, and could have stood a little less time in the over.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 15, 2012

    Flag

    Love these muffins. They freeze well and I lowered the fat content a little more by using all applesauce replacing the canola oil. They are great without the oil. Also use whole wheat flour since I try not to use white flour. Healthy and delicious. Thanks for this one.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 10, 2012

    Flag

    These sound good too. I have a version from Cooking Light calling for shredded carrots, apple, crushed pineapple, raisins, coconut. I love this muffin because of the flavors and moistness. I call them carrot cake meets fruit cake. My only problems is that my blood sugar isn't too fond of them, but for an occasional indulgence, it's worth it.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 18, 2012

    Flag

    Moist and flavorful. I used regular applesauce and currants. Twenty minutes was also enough in my oven.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 13, 2012

    Flag

    Moist and delicious. Used chopped dates and apricots instead of prunes. Twenty minutes baking time was enough in my oven.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 11, 2012

    Flag

    Liked enough to now make second batch, added 1/4 cup finely choped pecans this time and subbed 1/4 cup whole wheat flour.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 07, 2012

    Flag

    I loved these muffins. I changed it up a bit. Used whole wheat flour, added zucchini, and used raisins instead of prunes. They turned out great!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 25, 2012

    Flag

    these are great morning muffins! I made them last week for our mornings and now again this week. They are dense, not too sweet and filling. we have them on the go with a 110 cal yogurt and it fills us all morning. the only thing is it takes more than 10 min to prep. by the time all ingredients are gathered and chopping carrots and prunes (even with a small food processor it takes longer about 20 min. well worth it though! Next week I am going to use carrots and zucchini! I like this drop 5lb show....good information...and great recipes. I have made quite a few! enjoy!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.