COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

3

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 10

Showing 1-10 of 10

Sort by:

Newest
  • on April 04, 2013

    Flag

    Ok, I've made this 4 times and it turned out perfect two out of the four. But in defense of this recipie and dear Nigella, I think the weather has something to do with it, on days it was humid or muggy is when it didn't turn out. I even bought a silpat sheet because of this recipie, it really works great. I'll keep trying it, only on dry days though.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 24, 2012

    Flag

    like the rest of these reviews.........I made the recipe three times and every time it was a flop..........flat and sticky......no honeycomb texture. love ya Nigella.........but this doesn't even rate a star. I was so DISAPPOINTED...........IT LOOK GREAT ON TV.
    only reason I rated it a star is because I couldn't posted this if I didn't...........lol

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 20, 2012

    Flag

    I hate giving this a 1 star because I love Nigella so much, but I've tried this recipe 8 (EIGHT!!! times. I tried it over winter 2011, failed 7 times. I just saw the episode again and thought, what the heck, I'll try it again. It failed again - it just flops and has no puffy honeycomb texture. I don't know what to do except give up. Maybe Nigella will ship me some for my birthday : ha!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 04, 2012

    Flag

    it worked but too much baking soda,very salty,I did use corn syrup light also.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 03, 2012

    Flag

    I have tried making this "hokey Pokey" three times now and it has never worked for me. I followed the directions both written and from the program exactely.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 25, 2012

    Flag

    Woked for me.
    The original recipe calls for golden syrup, not dark corn syrup.. It's hard to find, but well worth it. The golden syrup is made entirely from cane sugar. This might also be part of the problem people are having.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 11, 2011

    Flag

    This worked fine for me, but I used aluminum-free baking soda, perhaps that is why it hasn't worked for others? it is DELICIOUS!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 25, 2011

    Flag

    I'm glad to see I'm not the only one this didn't work for. I'm also in a hot climate and may try it again this fall/winter. Also glad to read similar review for Chuck's no knead bread, which I intended to make also. I'll wait for cooler weather for that also. I'm sure the recipe is fine, it appeared so on the program, it just didn't work for me. Twice.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 17, 2011

    Flag

    Same here - no luck. After reading other sites & reviews I am now convinced that the humidity here might be an issue. (Chuck's No-Knead-Bread went to the bin as well - twice!) --- In any case: I will try again in the winter to find out for sure.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 14, 2011

    Flag

    I have made this twice now and neither time it came out like it was supposed to. The first time it flattened as I was pouring it onto the parchment so I thought maybe I whisked too much. The second batch I whisked very little and poured it out while it was light and fluffy but eventually it fell and flattened on the parchment. Both end results were tasty but more like caramel and never got fully hard, fluffy or breakable.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Carnival Eats

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.