Papaya Chicken

Recipe courtesy Bal Arneson
Show: The Perfect 3 Episode: Chicken

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 9

Showing 1-9 of 9

Sort by:

Newest
  • on December 19, 2014

    Flag

    I was in hurry to make a romantic dinner so I used my multicooker (I have Redmond RMC-M90) to make it more fast. First I fried onions inside and then was adding everything else. I think it took me like 10-15 minutes to have everything ready! Delicious! Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 16, 2014

    Flag

    I made this exactly as listed. Hubby and I really enjoyed it. However, next time I'm going to add a bit of salt, and grind the cumin seeds. One bite of these little puppies overpowers any other flavors in your mouth.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 17, 2013

    Flag

    The chicken was good. I ran out of yogurt so I used sour cream. I was skeptical about the papaya fearing that it may be a little too sweet so I used butternut squash instead. It had bit of sweetness to it and it was soooooooooooooo good. The lady at walmart asked how does the squash taste I tld her I didn't know, I'll have to wait and find out lol.

    the fenugreek seeds/powder/leaves can be purchased at Indian and Pakistani groceries, because there millions of those people here. Thank God.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 07, 2013

    Flag

    Our store frequently has Papaya even in February but didn't today so I used a jar of refrigerated Mango slices from the produce dept. We really liked this dish. We ate it with Basmati rice and the Spice Goddess Green Beans with cilantro. Now I'm anxious to try it with the papaya.
    I bought all the spices for Bal's recipes online at my spice sage Free shipping, no minimum.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 11, 2012

    Flag

    I made this last night and it was very good. I went a little heavy on the spices and added some curry powder to the dish for a little extra kick. I served this over basmati rice that I "doctored up" with chopped onions, mushrooms and fresh parsley. I will definately make this again.

    Also, Richard in Nashville try to Botan market on the corner of Nolensville and Edmunson Pike for spices. I bought the Fenugreek there.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 11, 2012

    Flag

    We thought this was very good. I used all the spices she recommends. I ordered them online as I could not find fenugreek seeds anywhere. I used a red onion as I thought I remembered her using a red onion on air, but the recipe just calls for "onion." I do not usually use red onions to sautee, but it was very good. I served it with a simple foccaccia bread that I made by rolling out store bought fresh pizza dough and drizzling it was olive oil and then baking it in the oven.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 24, 2011

    Flag

    I made this dish last night. Followed directions to a T except for the fenugreek seed which was unavailable. Substituted yellow mustard seed per the web suggestions. Although the dinner was OK it seemed bland. I'll have to review the recording of the show but I seem to recall that on the air she used a chile pepper somewhere. It probably would have helped here.

    I also note that on the show she chops the garlic and ginger and the recipe presented here calls for grated garlic and ginger. I really would prefer that the recipe is either transcribed as per the show or if a change is made, please offer an explanation.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 09, 2011

    Flag

    Amazing Dish! I made it today and so far it tastes and looks fabulous! Thanksd!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.