Red-Cooked Chicken with Assorted Vegetables

Recipe courtesy Drop 5 Lbs with Good Housekeeping
Show: Drop 5 Lbs with Good Housekeeping Episode: Working Hard and Living Healthy

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

3

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 8

Showing 1-8 of 8

Sort by:

Newest
  • on February 24, 2013

    Flag

    I love this Recipe and have made it serveral times!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 06, 2013

    Flag

    This was DELICIOUS! Came out just like the picture after thickening the glaze with corn starch, great suggestion lsteadman1. Slow cooked on low for 7 hrs, so the flavors absorbed fully into the chicken. I rotated the chicken a couple of times during the process in order to evenly cover the chicken. I have a picky eater in the family and he loved the meal. A definite to make again.
    Chkwagner - garlic is the first ingredient listed in the second column so it is posted just like explained on TV, they are consistent.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 01, 2013

    Flag

    I haven't tried making this yet. But I find it disturbing that the ingredients listed online do not match the ingredients that Melissa quoted on television. For example, on TV, she added 3 cloves of garlic minced. Garlic is not listed in the online recipe.
    Please try to consistent.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 29, 2012

    Flag

    Not the worst but way too much 5 spice and definatly not what the picture looked l like. It was more poached than glazed. (yes, crock pot, not oven
    That being said, I did not need a glaze as I am watching calories and will make it again. With a lot less 5 spice. not sure it needs to cook as long as suggested either.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 08, 2012

    Flag

    I followed the recipe exactly and it did not turn out like what Melissa pulled out of her crockpot and I'm a good cook. I was very disappointed.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 07, 2012

    Flag

    I put this in the crockpot on low and the sauce was burnt 6 hours later. The whole house smelled like burnt sugar for 2 days. I had to throw it out. The chicken was dried out too. I think the other reviewer is right, the flavors would be great in a stir fry but this is NOT a crockpot dish. And I am an accomplished cook.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 30, 2012

    Flag

    I made this dish and I really enjoyed it. I made a few adjustments though. I used white wine vinegar instead of sherry because I didn't have any. I also didn't have any 5 spice powder so I improvised. The flavors of this dish were excellent, but like the person before me the chicken was also falling off the bone so I removed it and served it like a shredded chicken. I really dont see the point in cooking this dish in the slow cooker. Next time I think I'll use a wok or just a sautee pan. I also thought the sauce was too thin, it was very watery, so I used some cornstarch and chicken broth to thicken it up and it was perfect. Over all it was quite tasty, just needed some tweaking. I will make it again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 16, 2012

    Flag

    This recipe tasted pretty good, but it came out looking nothing like the picture. I cooked it for 8 hours on low as directed, and the chicken completely fell of the bones as I took it out of the slow cooker. We served it as a "shredded Asian chicken". There was really no glaze, just a liquid sauce. Not what I expected.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.