Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Recipe courtesy Ruth Teig
Show: My Grandmother's Ravioli Episode: Ruth Teig -- Jewish Cuisine

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 25

Showing 1-10 of 25

Sort by:

Newest
  • on February 15, 2014

    Flag

    Wow! It sounded like my Great-Grandmother's cake and boy was it close! Easy to make; even for a non-baker.
    The cake came out moist and yummy. I made it yesterday and a quarter of the cake is left.
    Thanks for the great show, Mo! Thanks Grandma Ruth!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 30, 2014

    Flag

    This is an excellent recipe. It turned out beautifully and came together so quickly and easily. The smell is INSANE and the taste is even better. It has a beautiful texture and is so moist. I will absolutely make this again. THANK YOU RUTH!!!! One caveat for others wanting to try it: I grabbed the wrong type of tube pan. The type of pan I used I have come to learn is known as a Kugelhopf Pan. It may be great for a Kugelhopf but a normal tube pan would be a better choice for Ruth's coffee cake. This type of pan does not have a flat bottom. It made it too hard to distribute the chocolate / nut topping, and also I think was too narrow at the bottom for a heavy batter like this, so it wound up taking an hour in the oven instead of 45 minutes. If Mo finds a grandma who makes Kugelhopf, I'll be golden. But I will make this outstanding coffee cake in a regular tube pan next time. And next time will be soon because this cake is crazy good. Ruth - you rule.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 01, 2014

    Flag

    Saw the show sometime ago, but always wanted to make the cake. Finally had time to make the cake and it was well worth it! Delicious! I intended to eat only one piece, but ate another.
    Yes, the batter seems a little thick, but if you spoon it in four places and then spread it out, it comes out perfectly.
    The only problem I had was with the crumb toppings falling out when I cooled and flipped it over.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 09, 2013

    Flag

    Loved this cake! I made this yesterday and it was gone withing 24 hours. My husband, son and I devoured it. Thanks for the recipe!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 03, 2013

    Flag

    Saw Ruth make this on an episode and HAD to make it! It didn't disappoint, it's absolutely delicious, sent some with a friend who also raved about it. A definite keeper in my book. Thanks for sharing Ruth, really enjoyed the episode you were on!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 02, 2013

    Flag

    so I baked this cake and I have noticed that the recipe is missing, as the batter turned out very thick you need to spoon it and this is not common in cake baking! I am not sure how all these comments rated 5 star and that it turned amazing. From my experience in baking I had to add more liquid, I had around 1/4 cup left of sour cream which I added, and I added between 1/4-1/2 cup of milk, I added gradually until I reached the right consistency. The cake baked well, the taste is overall good, I like bold flavors, I didnt get that although I added more cinnamon and 1 tsp of almond oil, and also 1/4 cup white chocolate. Maybe next time if I do it, I would add more cinnamon istead of 2 TBSP ill add 5, and more almond oil 1TBSP and play with the batter's taste as it lacked flavor, the batter is not sweet which I prefer but it needed some flavor.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 27, 2013

    Flag

    Beautiful texture! I'm not usually a fan of coffee cake, but I adore this recipe.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 29, 2013

    Flag

    This is one of the most entertaining cooking shows on the network. I just love Mo. I've tried a few recipes from other cooking shows and there has been some disappointments, however with Ms Teig's cake recipe there was no failure. It's the best coffee cake on the planet. My family never finishes a cake, always some leftovers even after sharing with neighbors, but we just couldn't get enough of this cake. This is now one of the treasured recipes that will certainly pass down to the next generation. Thank you so much Ruth and Mo for bringing this to us.
    Ruth and Mo, you should have a show together. By the way, am making another one tonight.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 24, 2013

    Flag

    I would give this cake 10 stars if I could! It's delicious, moist and definitely a keeper...I made one today and will make another for work tomorrow. Even though I'm not much of a cake eater, I keep gong back for just one more piece. This is one you want to share with your friends and loved ones. I love the show and I really think Cooking Channel should give Ruth her own show...she's great!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 18, 2013

    Flag

    Thank you Ruth ! This cake was excellent. Unfortunately, I made this during a blizzard and ate 1/3 before I came to my senses and brought the rest to my neighbor. Skipped the walnuts because I hate them, otherwise, perfection. This recipe is now in my permanent recipe box noted "c/o Ruth Teig".

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 3 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.