Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Recipe courtesy Ruth Teig
Show: My Grandmother's Ravioli Episode: Ruth Teig -- Jewish Cuisine

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 27

Showing 11-20 of 27

Sort by:

Newest
  • on March 24, 2013

    Flag

    I would give this cake 10 stars if I could! It's delicious, moist and definitely a keeper...I made one today and will make another for work tomorrow. Even though I'm not much of a cake eater, I keep gong back for just one more piece. This is one you want to share with your friends and loved ones. I love the show and I really think Cooking Channel should give Ruth her own show...she's great!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 18, 2013

    Flag

    Thank you Ruth ! This cake was excellent. Unfortunately, I made this during a blizzard and ate 1/3 before I came to my senses and brought the rest to my neighbor. Skipped the walnuts because I hate them, otherwise, perfection. This recipe is now in my permanent recipe box noted "c/o Ruth Teig".

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 16, 2013

    Flag

    My family really enjoyed this cake. I will definitely make it again. I think this recipe can be made a little bit different ingredients, instead of chocolate pieces I might substitute cocoa powder, or fruit of some kind like apples, pumpkin almost anything might work. I enjoy recipes that adapt to the seasons. I will be bring this cake to family get togethers I know everyone will enjoy it.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 14, 2013

    Flag

    Either I read recipe wrong or I'm a real dope. First, I could not find a bundt pan that said 1 and 1/2 quarts. So I'm thinking 6 cups. Sic cup bundt pan was way too small. Cake is still in the oven (almost 60 minutes now and completely uncooked. Batter did not pour into pan. It had to be scraped with a spatula. I searched high and low for conversion measurements....nothing telling me that a 1 and 1/2 qt bundt equals a 6 cup pan. Way too much better. Disaster

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 20, 2013

    Flag

    Wow! Super easy and the most delicious and yummy coffee cake ever!! I followed the recipe to the T. This wonderful cake was moist and flavorful my family love it! Thanks for sharing this amazing recipe!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 01, 2013

    Flag

    delicious! moist and tasty! will try adding almond extract next time. thank you for a wonderful recipe, my family loved watching you and Mo.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 30, 2012

    Flag

    This was amazing! I was a little concerned at reading the recipe and they disavowed any promise that the recipe would work, as it was provided by the guest of the show. But hey, she's a math teacher, of course she's going to get it right.

    This is a great recipe. I was a bit concerned about putting the chocolate mixture at the bottom of the pan, but it worked just fine. Instead of a bundt pan like she did in the show, I made smaller portions in small gift-sized loaf pans. That's my only variation to the recipe. It was lovely. This will be my go-to sweet treat going forward. Since I made it in the smaller pans, I did find that it got crumbly after a couple of days, so in the future I will make sure to make it no more than the day before eating it. Wherever I took my little mini loaves, though, they were snapped up. Very tasty and definitely worth making. Give it a shot!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 17, 2012

    Flag

    I made this cake for a catering job and they gobbled it up and wanted another. Ruth--I loved watching you on Mo's show and this is now my go-to coffee cake. Mazel Tov Bubbie!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 17, 2012

    Flag

    I gave this to someone who works around my house and he said it was FABULOUS! The hardest part of this recipe was the sifting, which means it was very easy to put together.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 22, 2012

    Flag

    I have tried so many sweets and cakes throughout my 40 years. I really have decided to not bother with any sweets for me. But I make plenty for my surrounding families. I am called on a lot to make every desert, that I will not eat. I just can't seem to bring myself to eat sweets. Until now, I tried this recipe for my husband. While it was warm I got a piece and well the flood gates opened!
    I eat more of it than my husband and was so very thankful to finally find a desert I really enjoyed. Thank you for this recipe I have already made it for my Thanksgiving desert and plan to make it every chance I get. I have less than 10 deserts that I will eat and this has been moved up to one of my top.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.